Research Guides: Foundations of Library Research : Sources for Articles: Library Databases

Some of the Most Popular Berry Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier is housed within the EBSCO system. This means that it has a very user-friendly search interface. Academic Search Premier covers a wide range of disciplines. It does not cover as many publications as a specialized subject database would, but it is still an excellent place to start your research.
EBSCO
EBSCO is an umbrella for 80+ databases on every imaginable subject, from business to education to nursing to sociology to literature. When you click on the link, browse the list of databases and choose ones you would like to search.
more...less...
If you want to be daring, "Google-ize" EBSCO by selecting all databases to search at once. Do this when you are uncertain of which database to choose. This search will show you the degree to which databases cover your topic.
Gale/Cengage
Gale/Cengage is an umbrella for some 45 general interest, subject, and thematic databases. Click on an icon for databases that appears when you enter the link above.
more...less...
Popular databases include: Opposing Viewpoints, the New York Times, Educator's Reference Complete, and Criminal Justice.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides pdfs of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences. Berry Library subscribes to many journals going back to their beginnings. JSTOR does not carry current issues. In fact, most journals have an "embargo" on issues within the past 4 years.
more...less...
Contact Nancy Dennis for a work around to this!
MasterFile Premier
MasterFile Premier is EBSCO's database of popular and general interest journals and magazines.
NexisUni
NexisUni is useful to students in business, journalism, and law, Its content ranges from scholarly law reviews to press releases of the latest business products. "Compare Companies" is a special feature for business students.
more...less...
NexiUni is completely full-text.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is an umbrella for scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest
Proquest is an umbrella to 17 databases, plus e-books and newspapers. It covers the humanities, the social sciences, the sciences, and business. Both general interest and scholarly publications are included.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar utilizes the powerful searching capabilities of Google to search across scholarly journal and book databases.
more...less...
Go to settings > Library Links to make Google Scholar link to Berry Library databases.
Text Nancy Dennis for help: 978-587-1312

Which Database to Use?

Academic Search Premier will cover most topics and provide reasonable coverage. It is a good starting place.
From here, you might want to explore EBSCO. Scroll through its list of databases and select one or two that relate to your topic.
Generally speaking, both Gale/Cengage and Proquest would be the next database umbrellas to consult.
If you have a humanities or history project, you will want to go to JSTOR and/or ProjectMUSE.