An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
View tutorial:
3-5 year embargo on journals.
Complete archival collection.
Full-text database of thousands of magazine and newspaper articles, news wires, legal, and government sources. Dates of coverage and updates vary from title to title. Includes company and country profiles.
This is the database formerly called, Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.
Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
This collection comprises several subsets, including:
Concentration Camps Correspondence, 1936-1945
The Concentration Camps Correspondence was arranged by the collector, Michel Brisebois, into three subseries:
Letters sent to camps: Auschwitz; Buchenwald; Dachau; Flossenburg; Lublin/Majdanek; Mauthausen; Mittelbau; Neuengamme; Ravensbruck; and Sachsenhausen.
Letters sent by prisoners from: Auschwitz; Bergen Belsen; Buchenwald; Dachau; Esterwegen; Flossenburg; Fort VII; Gross-Rosen; Herzogenbush; Lublin-Majdanek; Mauthausen-Gusen; Mittelbau-Dora; Natzweiler; Neuengamme; Ravensbruck; Sachsenhausen and Stutthof.
The third series consists of cases where there were three or more letters sent or received by the same prisoner. The correspondence is arranged by name of prisoner.
French Stars of David—"Juif". One is worn and one is unused and in rectangular format; used in France.
German Star of David—"Jude". These were worn in Germany and parts of occupied Poland.
Counterfeit Star of David Jewish attached to a fictitious armband and fake Waffemamt.
Czech badge—a red cloth triangle folded on card with a large "T". These were worn by Czech prisoners.
Prisoner number badge—a white rectangular piece of cloth on card with the number "18846". These were worn by prisoners.
Digital copy of the Encyclopedia of Social Work. This trial also includes the other specialized Oxford reference works. As such, select the subject area, social work, from the listing of subjects available.
At the end of World War II, a joint United States and British Naval intelligence party seized the Marinearchiv (German Naval Archives) at Tambach Castle. Many of the documents, now held by the National Archives, concern the administration and military strategies of the Third Reich. This publication is a combination of essays written after the war and during the war, including transcripts of speeches, personal accounts of wartime experiences, and research and development reports.
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Five resources:
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
Essays by German Officers and Officials, 1939-1945
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank
The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe. Its main purpose was to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe in countries allowing permanent immigration. At the Anglo-American conference at Bermuda in April 1943, recommendations were made to the Committee and adopted in August 1943 for an extension of its mandate and structure in order to take into account not only immediately urgent situations but also the longer-term problems of the postwar period. After the establishment of the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration the Committee's responsibilities were limited to refugees in areas in which that Administration was not active and to refugees who for one reason or another did not come within the jurisdiction of the Administration, such as stateless refugees.
In July 1944, 37 governments participated in the work of the Committee. Of these, representatives of nine countries, including the United States, served on its Executive Committee. The primary responsibility for determining the policy of the United States with regard to the Committee was that of the Department of State. It ceased to exist in 1947, and its functions and records were transferred to the International Refugee Organization of the United Nations. Records of the Washington representative of the Committee were maintained at the State Department.
Online access to digitized historical newspapers including the following titles:
Boston Herald 1848 – 1991
Times Picayune 1837-1988
San Francisco Chronicle 1869- 1984
Kansas City Star 1880-1990
This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945. The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary.
A nurse’s responsibility extends beyond addressing just physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. Prepare your students to do that with our exclusive new collection, Nursing and Mental Health in Video.
