Skip to Main Content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Popular
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
New
Access to full text newspapers, both domestic and international. Includes access to the Salem News from 2008 to the present as well as other local, Massachusetts newspapers.
New
Collection of ebooks from the American Diabetes Association.
Trial
Portal into all of Adam Matthew's resources.
Trial
Large streaming video collection from Proquest.
This trial expires October 31.
To login from off-campus, log into one of our other resources, then once your authentication is complete, get into this trial. Thanks.
New
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media
New
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
New
Full text of the Boston Herald.
New
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from thousands of titles. This provides more full text coverage than Business Source Premier.
New
A collection of streaming video documentaries.
New
Online journal focusing on education.

Note: You MUST register as a user using a Salem State University Email address to have full access to the journal.
New
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Trial
Ethnic Diversity Source covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of:
African Americans
Arab Americans
Asian Americans
European Americans
Jewish Americans
Latinx Americans
Native Americans
Multiracial Americans
A Wide Variety of Sources
In addition to active full-text journals, magazines and newspapers, Ethnic Diversity Source curates and provides full text from a wide variety of sources* including:

4,500+ full-text e-books
2,000+ full-text biographies
6,300+ primary source documents
300+ full-text speeches
2,000+ full-text letters
4,000+ full-text interviews
600+ historical documents
600+ relevant, curated videos from the Associated Press
New
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
New
Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
New
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics.
New
A collection of Massachusetts newspapers including such papers as the Boston Herald and Salem News.
New
Collection of test prep resources.
Trial
Digital edition of the New York Times. This version is specifically for educators. 16 week trials are available.
New
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
New
Collection of ebooks related to elementary school education.
New
Full text of the Salem News with content from 2008.
New
A large variety of how to videos that will help you learn to search our many library resources.
New
All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.
New
Created by a multi-specialty editorial team, Social Work Reference Center is a turnkey information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. Content is organized in a way that makes it easy for users to get answers to questions quickly and easily.
New
Full text of the Sports Business Journal weekly and past weekly issues.
Note: Our subscription does not include access to daily issues.
Trial
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...