Research Guides: Accounting: Editorial Cartoons

Websites

The Cartoon Bank
Searchable index of The New Yorker cartoons.
The Daily Cartoonist
News blogs for professional cartoonists, primarily focused on newspaper cartooning (comic strips and editorial cartooning).
Daryl Cagle’s Professional Cartoonist’s Index
Collection of political cartoons. Cartoons protected by copyright laws.
GoComics
Online catalog of syndicated newspaper strips and web comics, offering new, fresh and free content every day.
Political Cartoons
Search the largest database of editorial cartoons by topical keyword search, publication date, artist and/or location.
U.S.News
See the best political cartoons lampooning politics, congress, gun rights and US leaders.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other journals in communication and media studies. It contains full text of more than 440 scholarly journals, indexing and abstracting for more than 670 additional journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
View tutorial:
3-5 year embargo on journals.
Complete archival collection.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides author-written abstracts for books, book reviews, and articles published in more than 1,400 journals in philosophy and related fields. 1940-present. Updated quarterly.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
In the Advanced search tab: at the bottom of the page is a link to More Search Options. Select document type: editorial cartoon, then enter search terms.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: full access from September 18th, 1851 (when it was the New York Daily Times) to December 31st, 2019 through ProQuest. Minus September 13th, 1857.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Coverage 1894 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals on such topics as emotional & behavioral characterisitics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and more. Coverage 1965 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles and other materials in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related fields. Coverage 1800s to present.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.
Sage Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of 450 online journals publised by Sage. Includes the deep backfile (up to the 2011 titles) collection. Updated monthly.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It is strong in the sciences and social sciences.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to major US newspapers.

Citing Cartoons

MLA Format:

Artist's Last Name, First Name. "Title if Any." Publication Name, date of publication, page number or URL if online.

Example #1 (political cartoon retrieved in print):

Block, Herbert. "The American Scene." New York Times, 1 Feb. 1942, E3.

Example #2 (political cartoon retrieved from a website):

Block, Herbert. "What's This About Your Letting the Common People Come in Here and Read Books?" Washington Post, 6 June 1954. Library of Congress. www.loc.gov/exhibits/herblock/classic-cartoons-by-a-master.html#obj2. Accessed 6 Aug. 2018.

APA Format:

APA does not list "cartoon" as a specific example in its manual, but here are some ways to approach it:

If found in an online periodical (ex., newspaper) or periodical database:

Cite as you would a periodical article, but include a description [Cartoon] after the title of the cartoon (if there is one). If the cartoon does not have a title then include [Cartoon] after the date.

Ex:

Block, H. (1942, February 1) The American scene. [Cartoon] New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

If retrieved through an online archive, such Herblock's History exhibition through the Library of Congress, indicate the name of the archive.

Ex:

Block, H. (1942, February 1) The American scene. [Cartoon] New York Times. Retrieved from the Library of Congress' Herblock's

History Exhibition: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/swann/herblock/

Thanks to Harford Community College for this information on citations

Purdue OWL Guides for tips on APA format, MLA format and more!

Key Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.