Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Salem Academy Charter School: Articles and Databases

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases available for research at the Salem State University Library.  Off-campus access is restricted to the Salem State community, so if you need to use the databases, come to the library.  Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.

Saving Articles - Printing articles is limited to Salem State users.  The best way is for you to save articles as a PDF/Word Document and attach it to an email, save articles on a flash/USB drive, or save articles to your cloud storage. 

Which questions from the CRAAP test do you need to ask yourself when looking in library databases?

Currency

How old is this information?
If the author uses information from outside sources, is that information also appropriately current?
Is this a topic where timeliness is fairly important, or does timeliness matter less (for example, when doing historical research)?

Relevance

How much does this information relate to my topic?
Have I exhausted all of the other possibilities?

Authority

Where is the author getting the information from? Are there references I can trace? Does this source represent those background sources accurately?

 

What do you think? Are there other questions you are finding you still want to ask? Submit them in the "Comments" link at the bottom of this box!

Type of Periodicals

Scholarly (Primary, Peer-Reviewed.)
For academics. Scholarly research in the field. Contains Literature Review, Methods, Charts.
Example: Journal of Food Science, New England Journal of Medicine
Popular (Secondary)
For general public.  Personalities, news, general interest articles. 
Example: People, Sports Illustrated
Trade
For industry, professionals.  Trends, products for industry. 
Example: MacWorld, Public Management
 

Scholarly Articles

A scholarly article is basically a formal presentation of original research.
Scholarly articles have many features which distinguish them from popular or secondary sources. In evaluating whether an article is scholarly, you should look for:
  • The publication source is usually a periodical (journal). 
  • The article is highly structured, usually with an abstract, introduction, methods, results and conclusion. 
  • Specific, technical or scientific language is used.
  • Original research is being presented for the first time. 
  • The authors have their affiliations noted (university, organization...).
  • There are citations within the text and a set of references at the end

Peer-Reviewed Articles

"Peer-reviewed" describes the process an article has to go through before it can be published in a specific journal. 
When a piece of research is submitted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal, a panel of researchers with a similar focus judge the research by various criteria
The article must be reporting original research that adds to the body of knowledge for the subject. The research must be reproducible, ethical and unbiased. Methods must be properly controlled and the conclusion must be reflective of the results. 
Some journals are a lot harder to get published in than others and this adds to their prestige. 

Primary Literature

What is "primary literature"?
  • Primary literature refers to ideas that are revealed in a public forum for the first time. Much of the primary literature appears in journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature.
  • Staying current with the primary literature in a specialty enables researchers to fully understand the scope of developments in their field and to avoid duplication of work.
Is primary research available on the web?
Many government agencies are sources of highly reputable scholarly research reports and journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature.

List of Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Statistics

Multidisciplinary Databases

Business and Marketing Databases

Healthcare and Sciences Databases

Humanities Databases

Social Sciences Databases