Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

EDC 405: Culturally Responsive Teaching

What is EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a citation management tool.  EndNote Basic can help you keep track of your research articles, create bibliographies, view your articles, and even share information with colleagues.  

Using EndNote

Step 1) Setup an EndNote Basic Account

To set up an EndNote account, go to the EndNote website.  

Click on EndNote Online Login at the top right of your screen and then Register to continue with the setup process.  Use a non-SSU email.

Step 2) Managing Your Folder

You can create folders to organize your resources for different classes and projects.  To create a folder, click on Organize then Manage My Groups.  Click on New Group to create a folder.

Share a folder - Go to Organize and Manage My Groups.  Click on Manage Sharing and enter the email addresses you want to share your folder. 

Step 3) Exporting Articles from a Database. Importing and Viewing Articles from EndNote

Now you need to put articles into your EndNote account.  To export an article from a library database to EndNote, locate the button for exporting citations - this may be variously labeled Cite, Export, Save or something similar.  Then follow the instructions to export your article(s) from library databases:  

1) Click on Export/Save as a RIS format.  This RIS format will be downloaded and saved to the Downloads Folder on your computer. 

2) To import an RIS format to EndNote, go to your EndNote account. 

3) Click on Collect and Import References. 

4) Click on Choose File and a box will appear.  Select the Downloads Folder from your computer and locate your RIS file (the name of this file could be "Citations" / "Delivery" / "Savedrecs" / "ProQuest Document."  This depends on which database you are importing from) and click Open. 

5) Then under the Import Option dropdown box in EndNote, select RefMan RIS

6) Choose your folder to save and click on Import.  

 

Manually insert a citation - Click on Collect and New Reference.  Under the Reference Type dropdown box, select the source type (book, journal article, webpage, etc.), type in the appropriate fields, and click Save.  

Citations not in a folder - Go to My References and select the citations you want.  Under the Add to Group dropdown box, select your folder.

View your articles - Mouse over the green circle icon (Full-text options) of the article and click on it.  It will direct you to the appropriate library database to view your article (if available in full-text).  

Step 4) Creating Bibliographies

To create a bibliography of your citations, click on Format and Bibliography.  Under the References dropdown box, select your folder.  Under Bibliographic Style dropdown box, select a citation style (APA, MLA, etc.). Under File Format dropdown box, select RTF (rich text file) and Save.  This will be saved to your Downloads Folder on your computer.  Locate the RTF file (the name of this file will be "exportlist").  This will be opened as a Word Document.  

Citing Sources

Citation is a method of attribution that indicates your work came from another source (acknowledging the source).  It is important to cite sources to avoid plagiarism, but it is also important to cite sources so readers can learn more about your topic or research background.  Citation also lets readers know how much effort you put into the research for your paper.  Citing other's ideas also lends credibility to your ideas.  It is also important to "distinguish" your ideas from others, and to know that they are supported or differentiated from other's ideas.

Purdue OWL Guides for tips on APA format, MLA format and more!
Citation - Reflects the information needed to locate a particular source.
Bibliography - Lists citations for all of the relevant resources.
Annotated Bibliography - Each citation is followed by a brief note that describes and/or evaluates the source.
In-text citation - Consists just enough information to correspond to a source's full citation in a works cited list. Requires a page number(s) showing exactly where relevant information was found in the original source.
AMA - (American Medical Association). Used in medicine, health, and biological sciences.
APA - (American Psychological Association). Used in social science disciplines, like psychology and education.
Chicago - Used with all subjects in the "real world" by books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications.
MLA - (Modern Language Association). Used in literature, arts and humanities disciplines.