Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Medical Ethics Articles
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (Medical Ethics)
Covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.
Medline (Medical Ethics)
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is equivalent to the print Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and International Nursing Index.
MEDLINEplus is produced by the National Library of Medicine as a resource for consumer health information. It contains databases for drug information, current news, directories, and medical dictionaries.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Information on today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Wiley InterScience Journals (Medical Ethics)
Full-text journal collection from Wiley InterScience. Includes access to the Cochrane Library. Subjects include business; sciences; social sciences; health sciences;
AMA Code of Medical Ethics
Ethics code of the American Medical Association (AMA), with related updates and opinions. The code, which can be read online or downloaded to PDAs, covers social policy issues (such as abortion, capital punishment, cloning, and end-of-life care), patient-physician relationships, confidentiality, and other ethical issues. "CEJA Reports" includes papers on topics such as medical testimony and organ donation. Also find a history of the AMA principles of medical ethics. From the American Medical Ass
A&A Publishers: Hard Choices for Loving People
This site features the full text of the book "Hard Choices for Loving People." Written by a nursing home and hospice chaplain, the book discusses the difficult decisions patients and caregivers face when dealing with terminal illness and the end of life. Covers cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), dialysis, feeding, use of respirators, pain relief, and hospice care, with the intent of helping people make informed choices. Also includes excerpts from a related book.
This site is "a gateway to evaluated, quality Internet resources relating to biomedical ethics, including ethical, social, legal and public policy questions arising from advances in medicine and biology, issues relating to the conduct of biomedical research and approaches to bioethics." Features lists of annotated links. Searchable or browsable by category. From the Wellcome Trust, a British independent charity "funding research to improve human and animal health."
Breach of Trust: Physician Participation in Executions in the United States
This 1994 document takes the position that "a physician, as a member of a profession dedicated to preserving life when there is hope of doing so, should not be a participant in a legally authorized execution." The report's opinions are of interest in relation to the refusal of two anesthesiologists to participate in the 2006 scheduled execution of California death row inmate Michael Morales. From American College of Physicians, Human Rights Watch, and other organizations.
Euthanasia and the Right to Die
Legal, medical, and ethical issues involved in palliative care, assisted suicide, and euthanasia.
EPERC: End of Life/Palliative Education Research Center
"The purpose of EPERC is to share educational resource material among the community of health professional educators involved in palliative care education." Includes peer-reviewed educational materials, a conference and meeting calendar, Web links, and "Fast Facts" on a range of topics such as ethics, pain, and clinical interventions. From the Medical College of Wisconsin.
Genomics.energy.gov: Genome Programs of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science
This enormous site covers the human genome project, genomics generally, biomass, cloning, genetic testing, medical applications, and ethical, legal, and social issues. From the Office of Biological and Environmental Research of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.
Human Genome Project Information
"Completed in 2003, the Human Genome Project (HGP) was a 13-year project coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health." This site provides background and updates on the project (data analysis is ongoing). Topics include medical and genetic implications, and ethical, legal, and social issues. Also includes material for teachers and students. From the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science, Office of Biological and Environmental Research, Human Genome Pro
Life and Death in the War Zone
This site is a companion to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) NOVA program that follows the activities of a Combat Support Hospital (CSH) during two months in 2003 during the Iraq War. The site features an essay about the ethical issues faced by combat doctors, a slide show, and an interactive feature about military medicine from the Civil War to the Iraq War. Also includes links and a teacher's guide.
National Newborn Screening & Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC)
This site provides information for health professionals and the public about newborn screening and genetics. It includes lists of tests available by state, laboratories offering expanded newborn screening, and reports and links on genetics, ethics, health care policy, and birth defects. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the University of Texas Health Science Center.
Parent's Guide to Cord Blood Banks
This guide's mission is to provide medical pros and cons for banking and storage of umbilical cord blood, and to explain the difference between donating to a public registry versus a private bank. It discusses ethical issues, costs, research, and stem cells. It has a questionnaire of issues which parents should address before making donor decisions. Company Links lists companies providing private Cord Blood Banks (CBB), along with a guide to help evaluate their services.
Spirituality and Medicine
This article, written for physicians, centers on ethical topics related to religious beliefs and practices of medical patients. Topics include the pervasiveness of religious belief, the importance of spirituality in medicine, how to take a spiritual history, respect of patients' religious beliefs, and more. From Ethics in Medicine, a project of the University of Washington School of Medicine.
Virtual Mentor: American Medical Association Journal of Ethics
Articles from this American Medical Association (AMA) publication cover issues related to medical ethics that "students, residents and other physicians are likely to confront in their training and daily practice." Topics include "access to care, quality-of-life considerations in clinical decision making, public roles of physicians, ethical issues in endocrinology, [and] conflict of values in the clinic." Archives go back to 1999.