The following electronic resources are useful for getting background information on topics of interest.
Once CQ Press opens click on CQ Researcher. Browse by topic or conduct a search for a broad term. The results should give you related issues to consider focusing your research on, and you can link to reports on these issues that include overviews, outlook, chronology, maps/graphs, etc. Comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis of issues in America since 1923.
Included in its "Medical" section, this database provides us with the Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders.
Oxford Bibliographies - Psychology
The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations promote discoverability as they link out to the sources via your library collection or through Google books and more. All articles receive multiple peer reviews and editorial board vetting
Provides the following reference resources: A Dictionary of Psychology; The Oxford Companion to the Mind; Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Click on "Subjects & Books" for a complete listing.
Includes reference titles covering the following subjects:Aging & Gerontology; Counseling & Psychotherapy; Family Studies; Gender & Sexuality Studies; Health & Social Welfare; Psychology;Social Issues; and more.
Search or try browsing a topic. You'll get a list of related subjects and subdivisions of the topic that include links to resources in the database.
Assignment Calculators/Planners & Understanding Your Assignment
Image from Giorgio Montersino via Flickr
Concept (or Mind) Mapping Tools
