Skip to main content
Today's Library Hours
7:45am – 11pm
Toggle navigation
Research Tools & Collections
Articles & Databases
Books & More
Streaming Media
University Archives
Unique Collections
Citing Your Sources
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Research Guides
Help & Services
Get Help & Staff Directory
General Information
Borrowing Policies
Instruction & Collaboration
Information Literacy Videos & Tutorials
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Course Reserves
Book a Study Room
Spaces & Technology
Library Technology
ADA Resources
Print, Copy, & Scan
Book a Study Room
Building Directory
Building Maps
WiFi & Remote Database Access
About the Library
Directions & Map
Hours
Get Help & Staff Directory
Library Help Desk
Library Use Policies
Strategic Plan
Giving to the Library
Guide Search Terms
Go
Salem State University Library
Research Guides
Professor Fyfe Multimodal Research Sources: Example: Popular Music Topics
Analyzing music topics for keywords
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons
Search this Guide
Search
Professor Fyfe Multimodal Research Sources: Example: Popular Music Topics
Summer 2024
Introduction
Analyzing music topics for keywords
Search Example #1: Berry Library's "Discovery Search"
Search Example #2: Finding a Popular Music Article
Search Example #3: Finding a Scholarly Article
Important: Accessing Library Databases from Off Campus Locations
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Requests
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Search Example #4: Finding a Book Chapter
Search Example #5: Documentaries on Musicians, Bands, and Genres
Search Example #6: Music Videos
Search Example #7: Podcasts
Search Example #8: Live Concerts
Search Example #8: Live Concerts
Search Example #9: Social Media
Search Example #9: Social Media
Search Example #10: Wikipedia
Search Example #11: Music Blogs
Search Example #12: Artist Web Sites
Search Example #13: Song Lyrics
Search Example #14: Album Art
Help
Keywords and Searches for Articles in Academic Search Complete
The boxes below show examples of searching for articles relating to popular musics.
The searches involve arguments about multiple concepts.
Notice how keywords are drawn from the topics.
Does rap have a negative impact on society?
Key words to search:
rap music
negative impacts
impacts on society
Search example:
Does listening to violent lyrics make people more aggressive?
Key words to search:
violent lyrics
aggression
Search example:
violent lyrics and aggression -
Search example: violence in music and aggession
<<
Previous:
Introduction
Next:
Search Example #1: Berry Library's "Discovery Search" >>
