Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

ACC 306: Cost Accounting

Company Research Overview

Use the library databases and web resources below to find a wealth of data about a particular company, ranging from general company profiles to SWOT analyses to financial data including balance sheets, income statements, and financial ratios. The majority of companies with detailed information are publicly traded companies, although a few of the resources below include some data about private companies.

Industry Research Overview

Think broadly and creatively about where your product fits. Some industries are too new or too odd to fit into an established category, you may need to look at multiple industries.

Industry reports provide general information about the companies that sell the same product or service. Reports generally include information on the largest companies, suppliers, emerging trends, regulatory changes, performance benchmarks, and key business issues.

Think about the following questions:

  • Which industry is best suited for my product or service?

  • What are emerging trends in the industry?

  • Who are my competitors?

 

Industry Codes

An industry classification code can ensure relevant results since many databases allow you to use this code to search the contents. Two codes that are assigned to all US businesses are NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) and its precursor SIC (Standard Industrial Classification).

SIC and NAICS codes can be useful tools when doing research on an industry or looking into a company's competitors.They are American standard codes and they essentially classify the industry areas in which companies operate.

NAICS Example:

44 - Retail

448 - Clothing and Clothing Accessories Stores

4481 - Clothing Stores

448140 - Family Clothing Stores

  • NAICS: North American Industry Classification System

  • SIC: Standard Industrial Classification

Market / Consumer Research Overview

Market research contains industry information, demographic data, purchasing habits of potential customers, and an analysis of a market. 

Essentially, market research helps you answer some of the following questions:

  • What is the size of my market?

  • Who are my competitors?

  • Which market is best suited for my product or service?

  • How much will customers pay for my product or service?

Off-campus library database access

​​​​​​When you access a library database off-campus (such as IBISWorld, Mergent, etc.), you will be prompted to enter a username and password. This tells our system that you are a member of the SSU community.

The user name and password are the same as those used to access Navigator, Canvas, email, etc.

Library Databases for Research Reports

Library Databases for News Articles

Library Databases for Data and Statistics