Library Hours:
The Berry Library and Learning Commons library hours lists more information about the building open hours for each day.
Research and Instruction Librarians
Librarians are available to provide instruction to classes in various formats and provide individual, in-depth research help over email, phone, Zoom and in-person.. Contact your librarian to get research support.
Currently library users are able to view and place requests for books, dvds, and other materials via the NOBLE library catalog. (Please note SSU students are only able to use videos items such as DVDs within the library.) To request items for pickup simply find an item in the catalog and click on place hold. For faster service, make sure you request the Salem State copy, but you may request books from any active library in NOBLE. You can also call the library at 978-542-6230 or email libraryhelp@salemstate.edu and ask a staff member to put items on hold for you.
The Berry Library is always here for you virtually with services and electronic resources available for you to access remotely.
The Berry Library's website offers 24/7 access to e-books, articles in databases, and research guides for help.
If you have a question, put in a library service desk ticket, or contact a librarian directly for in-depth research help.
Requests for journal articles unavailable at Salem State can be submitted via Interlibrary Loan.
Contact your librarian or the archivist to inquire about a class request for in=person or via Zoom.
Visit the Archives and Special Collections' digital collections and Digital Repository. Or you can ask an archivist.
Please send your library questions to libraryhelp@salemstate.edu or create a Library Service Desk ticket via SSU's online help portal.
You can also leave a message at the following phone numbers and someone will get back to you asap:
Library Help Desk: 978.542.6230
Reference Help Line: 978.542.6766
This online guide for faculty has been updated to provide additional how-to instructions regarding the use of online library resources and course materials as faculty bring their courses online. For additional help, contact the subject librarian for your department.
Book drop boxes are open and available at both entrances to the library for the return of books and materials. Materials will be retrieved and checked in every business day, but please note that a returned book may continue to appear on your library record for a few days if you return it Friday through Sunday. If you see a book you returned remain on your record more than a week after you returned it, please report it by submitting a Library Service Desk ticket and someone will get back to you.
This guide on how to find e-books provides links to sources providing access to e-books..
Requests for Interlibrary Loan articles can be submitted through the ILL online request form by choosing "Article" from the menu, from links within databases, or by sending an email with your citation to ssu_ill@noblenet.org. Book requests (or other returnable items, movies, audiobooks, etc.) may also be ordered using the ILL online request form. Please send any interlibrary loan questions to ssu_ill@noblenet.org. All items are requested in the order that they are received.
For Students: Search the Course Reserves database to see if there are any print or online copies of your readings for your courses. Print course reserves are located behind the Library Help Desk. Students must present a valid, barcoded ID/Library card in order to borrow items from course reserves. Students may check out up to two print reserve items at any one time. eCourse Reserves will be listed under the course reserves database or through your Canvas courses.
For Faculty: Please refer to the faculty course reserves guideline
Course Reserves Online Forms:
Add a Print Course Reserve Item
Remove a Course Reserve item
E-Reserves Request Form
Contact: Please feel free to speak to any staff member at the Library Help Desk for assistance with Course Reserves or contact the Reserve Coordinator, Jessica Fernandes at 978.542.6764 or at reserves@salemstate.edu.