. A database is an organized, searchable collection of electronically stored information. Library databases can contain anything available in a digital format: articles, ebooks, images, video, audio, and grey literature like conference proceedings and clinical trial reports. Most databases specialize in providing access to scholarly, credible information like academic journal articles, ebooks, and educational videos to use in research projects. Other databases focus on popular and trade publications like magazine and newspaper articles, while others have all three types of publications.
As a current student, you have access to all of the Salem State University Berry library databases without paying any fees. You can search or browse the databases using keywords or other identifying information (author, title, etc.) to find results that meet your information needs.
Narrow your search: search for subject specific databases
Off campus access for students: use your Navigator username and password
Search NOBLE catalog for print books, eBooks, audiobooks and streaming videos.
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is the primary resource for the fields of nursing, allied health and occupational therapy. It includes: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, index/abstracts, full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database, CINAHL, is the core resource of this product.
Provides access to psychology journals on such topics as emotional & behavioral characterisitics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and more. Coverage 1965 to present.
Provides access to psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Coverage 1894 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.Â
Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks. View tutorial:
A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts. Please see BPL eCard web page for more information. http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
A collection of streaming films and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
This Alexander Street series features training videos, reenactments, and actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals including films in emerging areas, including mindfulness and cyberbullying.
Large, streaming video collection. View tutorial: