Click to access Education Resource Area Video Tutorials

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

• Education, curriculum and children's book collections, shelved in Library of Congress order. 

• 29,000 books shelved as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area.  Each of these items has Educ. Res. preceding its Library of Congress classification in the catalog.

• SELECT books, big books, kits, test books and leveled readers, shelved in the second floor Education Resource Area.

• ERA Print periodicals: alphabetically listed by title with the ERA periodical collection.

• ERA Reference books, shelved on the 1st ERA shelf.

See more information about books and other materials in the Education Resource Area (ERA) of the library.

•     SSU Library Education Databases
•     Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks
•     MBLC Free Resources 
•     Boston Public Library eCard

These journal articles are available online through SSU Databases. For Off- campus access, use your Navigator username and password. 

Looking to order a ClipperCard? Find directions for uploading your photo and ordering a card here. ClipperCard is your student ID card and your SSU Berry library card.

Email ClipperCard office: clippercard@salemstate.edu

Use the NOBLE online library catalog to search for books, e-books, streaming videos.  To request non-SSU items, provide your library card number on the back of your Clipper Card with your password/pin number (request password/pin number online or at the Library Help Desk)

• Boston Public Library Electronic Resources

  A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts. Please see BPL eCard web page for more information. http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm

• EBSCO eBook Collection

  EBSCO eBook Collection is a collection of over 3000 online books and resource materials available through the web.  The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection is included in this large resource.

• Gale eBooks

  A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.

• OverDrive

  24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming. View tutorial: 

• The Online Books Page

  More than 30,000 free books on the Web.(UPenn)

• Project Gutenberg

  Provides free access to over 25,000 books in its catalog and links to affiliated projects.

• Scholastic BookFlix

  All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations.. 
  
  

   

TeachingBooks (PreK-12)

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. This one stop database provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.

How to access TeachingBooks Database? Log in here: Please use your SSU student email to create an account or go to TeachingBooks.net/SignIn

Username: salemstate
Password: reads! (case-insensitive)

Social Justice Subject Heading Resources

Children's Literature and Social Justice Book Awards:

Coretta Scott King Book Awards, 1970-2021

Pura Belpré Awards, 1996-2021

Anti-Racist Reading List: Raise Your Voice: Activism and Protest

Jane Addams Children's Book Awards, 1953-2022

Once Upon a World Children's Book Award, 1996-2014

• Social justice (12+)
• Social justice--Juvenile literature (4+)
• Social justice--United States (3+)
• Criminal justice, Administration of--Social aspects--United States (1+)
• Social justice--Australia (1+)
• Social justice--Biography (1+)
• Social justice--Poetry (1+)
• Social justice--United States--History--19th century (1+)
• Social justice--United States--History--20th century (1+)
• Social justice--Juvenile fiction (1+)
• Social justice--United States--History--20th century--Sources (1+)
• Social justice--Juvenile poetry (1+)
• Social justice--United States--Juvenile literature (1+)
• Social justice in art--Juvenile literature (1+)
• Social justice--Fiction (1+)

• Social Justice Books: Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books

• We Need Diverse Books

• Cooperative Children's Book Center: Diversity Resources

• Diverse Book Finder

• Lee and Low Books

• Database of Award Winning Children's Literature

• Learning for Justice

• International Children's Digital Library

• Diverse Families

• Rainbow Book List (ALA)

• Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

• The Brown Bookshelf

• Teaching Materials:: Black Lives Matter at Schools

• Black Books Matter: Children's Books Celebrating Black Boys - The Conscious Kid

• Guide for selecting anti-bias children's books - Social Justice Books

• Children's books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance - Embrace Race

• We All Have Different Shades of Skin Story - Autism Little Learners