This course is taught by Dr. Francesca Pomerantz. The course examines children’s literature (PreK-6th grade) from a social justice perspective. Students will explore the cultural assumptions embedded in children’s literature, whose voices are heard and whose are absent, how privilege and power determine what is published and accessible, and how literature can present counter narratives and inspire action to promote social justice. Students will use course resources to analyze and evaluate the literary and artistic qualities of children’s books from various viewpoints, resist censorship, and deepen understanding of how to engage children in discussion of social justice topics.
Click to access Education Resource Area Video Tutorials
Need help with Education databases or finding age appropriate children's books? Reach out to Rukmal Ryder: Reference Services and Childhood Education and Care librarian. She is available for library instruction sessions in the Childhood Education and Care department and for research assistance. Schedule an appointment here.
A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts. Please see BPL eCard web page for more information. http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm
EBSCO eBook Collection is a collection of over 3000 online books and resource materials available through the web. Many different subject areas are covered including business, buying and selling a home, careers, complete idiot's guides, computer how to books, consumer health, consumer law, psychology, self help, sports coaching, sports how to books, study guides, travel, and web development. Note: The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection is included in this large resource.
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming. View tutorial:
More than 30,000 free books on the Web.(UPenn)
Provides free access to over 25,000 books in its catalog and links to affiliated projects.
All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. This one stop database provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.
How to access TeachingBooks Database? Log in here: Please use your SSU student email to create an account or go to TeachingBooks.net/SignIn
Password: reads! (case-insensitive)
Social Justice Subject Heading Resources
Children's Literature and Social Justice Book Awards:
Jane Addams Children's Book Awards, 1953-2022
Social Justice Books: Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books
Black Books Matter: Children's Books Celebrating Black Boys - The Conscious Kid
Guide for selecting anti-bias children's books - Social Justice Books
Children's books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance - Embrace Race
We All Have Different Shades of Skin Story - Autism Little Learners