Dawn Stahura (She/Her/Hers)
For zine help:
I will have office hours in the Library Makerspace on:
Feel free to drop by or send me an email.
The zine collection is located on the main floor of the library in the periodicals section. The zines do not circulate but you can read all the zines you want while hanging out in the library. There are a variety of subjects to discover as well as zines written by current SSU students.
To find out more information about each zine in our collection, click on this link to view the zine catalog.
Some of the student zines created at SSU are now digitized and part of the Digital Commons. Click this link to view them.
All of these books are available for checkout here at SSU or through Noble.
Stolen Sharpie Revolution 2
A brief, but engaging, and eminently useful guide to doing a zine. From tools to layout, copying, printing, trading, promotion, ordering, mailing, distribution, and a whole lot more. Nearly 150 (albeit pocket sized ) packed pages. Includes a handy section of distributor listings, stores, and libraries that work with zines. Published 7 years after the original Stolen Sharpie Revolution, this is a brand-new edition (rather than a sequel)aa total overhaul that takes into account lots of reader feedback, and also reflects the way zine culture has changed over the years, including new information about the Internet, zine events, zine readings and zines in academics, as well as updated resources.
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by
A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they've been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting their word out since before there were printing presses. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It's for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the fore front of the zine movement. It's for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It's for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others' hands. Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? is for anyone who has something to say.
Girls Make Media by
More girls are producing media today than at any other point in U.S. history, and they are creating media texts in virtually every format currently possible--magazines, films, musical recordings, and websites. Girls Make Media explores how young female media producers have reclaimed and reconfigured girlhood as a site for radical social, cultural, and political agency. Central to the book is an analysis of Riot Grrrl--a 1990s feminist youth movement from a fusion of punk rock and gender theory-and the girl power movement it inspired. The author also looks at the rise of girls-only media education programs, and the creation of girls' studies. This book will be essential reading for anyone seeking to understand contemporary female youth in today's media culture.
Girl Zines by
With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I'm So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism’s third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women ‘do’ feminism today. The idiosyncratic, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminism’s future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl. Girl Zines takes zines seriously, asking what they can tell us about the inner lives of girls and women over the last twenty years.
The Riot Grrrl Collection by
For the past two decades, young women (and men) have found their way to feminism through Riot Grrrl - more than a genre, but a movement in its own right. Against the backdrop of the culture wars and before the rise of the Internet or desktop publishing, the 'zine and music culture of the Riot Grrrl movement empowered young women to speak out against sexism and oppression. The movement created a powerful new force of liberation and unity within and outside of the women's movement. This is a collection of the original material of the Riot Grrrl movement.
Zines in Third Space by
Develops third-space theory by engaging with zines produced by feminists and queers of color.
Making Feminist Media by
Making Feminist Media provides new ways of thinking about the vibrant media and craft cultures generated by Riot Grrrl and feminism's third wave. It focuses on a cluster of feminist publications--including BUST, Bitch, HUES, Venus Zine, and Rockrgrl--that began as zines in the 1990s. By tracking their successes and failures, this book provides insight into the politics of feminism's recent past. Making Feminist Media brings together interviews with magazine editors, research from zine archives, and analysis of the advertising, articles, editorials, and letters to the editor found in third-wave feminist magazines. It situates these publications within the long history of feminist publishing in the United States and Canada and argues that third-wave feminist magazines share important continuities and breaks with their historical forerunners. These publishing lineages challenge the still-dominant--and hotly contested-- wave metaphor categorization of feminist culture. The stories, struggles, and strategies of these magazines not only represent contemporary feminism, they create and shape feminist cultures. The publications provide a feminist counter-public sphere in which the competing interests of editors, writers, readers, and advertisers can interact. Making Feminist Media argues that reading feminist magazines is far more than the consumption of information or entertainment: it is a profoundly intimate and political activity that shapes how readers understand themselves and each other as feminist thinkers.
A Girls's Guide to Taking over the World by
A GIRL'S GUIDE TO TAKING OVER THE WORLD Writings from the Girl Zine Revolution
Zine Scene by
Everyone has something to say about their dreams, thoughts, and weirdest obsessions. Whether you're a pen-wielding Riot Girl in an urban landscape, a prairie cowgirl with the soul of a beat poet, or someone who just wants to kick back and take in the self-expression revolution, this book is for you.
The Factsheet Five Zine Reader by
Zines, those hip, alternative, self-published magazines, have broken out from the obscurity of the underground and found themselves in the spotlight. Zealous readers are turning to zines for smart writing on everything from cutting-edge music to radical politics. With all that's been said about zines, one question still remains: Where the heck can you find them? And even if you dig them up, who has time to read through them all to get to the good stuff? R. Seth Friedman, super zine sleuth and the head honcho at Factsheet Five magazine, does. Culled from thousands upon thousands of zines, this book features seventy of the best stories, essays, and rants that have appeared over the past few years. These selections are intensely personal, unconventional, and sometimes completely out of this world. More than just a simple anthology, The Factsheet Five Zine Reader includes original art and covers from the zines, descriptions and histories of the zines, and complete ordering information so you can start exploring this exciting new world on your own.
The Zine Yearbook Volume 2
The second annual collection of excerpts from the best zines publishing today. Nearly 130 oversize pages crammed with the finest of 98...From "Burn Collector" to "Captain Sissy" and "Yard Wide Yarns". Superb editor Angel seems to have the stamina and eye to find the new and spectacular in the mountain of new zines which killed trees last year. Perfect toilet reading, bedtime reading, bus-commuting reading...really, you should read this.
The Book of Zines by
A scrapbook of artwork, humorous writing, and articles culled from the nation's zines--underground magazines produced by individuals and small publishers--includes off-the-wall tips on dating and reviews of grotesque products.
Universities, non-profits, and businesses regularly run big-budget “orientations,” to try to acclimate us to be eager cogs in the machinery of empire. Amazon shoved anti-union propaganda down workers’ throats in Bessemer, Alabama to stave off a unionization drive – putting posters in bathroom stalls and paying temp workers to walk around wearing “Vote No” t-shirts.
We can’t counter this assault only with tweets and TikTok videos, which often leave us more isolated than before. We urgently need ways to share new readings of the world and visions for the future. That’s where “Disorientation” zines come in!
How to make a disorientation zine
Here are a few examples from colleges and universities:
Links to Canva design produced by campus organization "A cops off campus project."
Possibly the first Disorientation Zine?!? Links to Springfield College Archives and Special Collections CONTENTdm site.
"Disorientation 2.0: AN ALTERNATIVE STUDENT HANDBOOK" (Includes links to printable PDFs).
Includes links to printable PDF of Oberlin Disorientation Zine 2016.
Links to Disorientation Zines and more, created by Oberlin Student Labor Action Coalition.
"The Disorientation Zine for the UC, Berkeley campus has been published by Slingshot and the Long Haul for about 10 years and is a guide to incoming students about existing community collectives and organizations that they can plug into and become involved with or simply learn about so that they may attend their events if they so desire."
Links to printable PDF.
Links to student-produced Disorientation Zine from 2022, with links to previous activism.
With links to printable color PDF zine!
Links to issuu account of the Barnard/Columbia Disorientation Guide, including years 2016; 2017; 2018; 2019, 2021.
Links to Washington University Disorientation Guide on issuu.
Links to printable PDF of the 2014-15 UNC - Chapel Hill Disorientation Guide.
Links to website of Minnesota's disorientation guides, including readable online, and printable PDFs.
"Disorientation, the annual guide compiled by campus activists to, in their own words, “serve as a resource for students looking to get involved with political organizing on campus.”"
Zine distros (distribution) are places that carry zines for purchase. If you have created a zine and want to have it available for others to buy, you can contact any of these distros to see if they are interested in adding your zine(s) to their website.
Want to make zine friends? Share your zine with others? Check out the following sites.
The SSU Student-created Zine Collection wants your zines! Whether you created a zine for class or just for fun, we'd love to add it to our collection.
Are you member of the SSU community? We'd love to add your zines as well. In order to donate your zine, please fill out the Zine Submission Form below. You can drop off your zine at the Library Help Desk or you can mail to Zine Librarian, Dawn Stahura.
Happy Zineing!
This zine is created by SSU graduate students Erin Ahart and Adeola Osabiya. It is a journey around SSU campus highlighting the resources available to LGBTQ+ students. This zine is freely available here to read and to print. You can also find copies at the Help Desk at the Berry Library.
If you would like to print your own copy of this zine, please download the pdf version below.