Some databases also have terms such as "health services for the aged". Databases may also allow limiting by age group.
Combine the above terms with terms like these:
Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Mental Health Care for Older People by
Exploring the key issues around anti-discriminatory practice for professionals working in mental health services, this book looks at ways to improve the health and social care of older people from minority and excluded communities. The chapters explore the issues involved in working with individuals from a range of minority groups, such as LGBT people, people with learning disabilities, people from black and minority ethnic communities, homeless people and people with dementia. The chapters cover important theory and research into discrimination, ageing and identity. Contributions from experts in the fields of mental health and working with minority groups provide practical insights into developing anti-discriminatory practice.There is also practical advice on culturally appropriate support for carers, cultural competency in end of life care, working with interpreters, and celebrating diversity, accompanied by supporting practical resources. This comprehensive book will provide mental health practitioners and students with an essential understanding of anti-discriminatory practice.
Encyclopedia of Ageism by
Learn more about age discrimination and how it affects us all The Encyclopedia of Ageism is a comprehensive review of over 125 aspects of ageism, alphabetically arranged for easy access. Written by 60 experts, the book examines topics such as anti-aging, stereotypes, and the media--with numerous references for further information. You'll find an alphabetical list of the entries, a detailed index, and a list of the entries categorized by subject, to help you find what you need fast. This resource will increase your awareness about the many facets of ageism and provide you with a wealth of concepts, theories, and facts about ageism. This important resource exposes the many faces of dehumanization through the elder neglect and prejudice that results from today's worldwide youth-oriented culture. The Encyclopedia of Ageism will help you recognize ageism when you encounter it and avoid it in your own thinking and actions. The book is a valuable guide for anyone working with older people and for older people themselves. With the Encyclopedia of Ageism, you will be able to identify personal, cultural, and institutional sources of ageism, such as: age denial age inequality/stratification sexuality scapegoating abuse the disengagement theory and so much more! This eye-opening reference shows how discrimination against elders can have consequences to the aged, the youth, the economy, and society as a whole. The Encyclopedia of Ageism promotes a future where the human rights of older persons are preserved and aging is considered a positive stage in the cycle of life. With this book, you will find strategies for reducing ageism, changing perceptions, and enhancing the quality of life for senior citizens and--someday--yourself.
Handbook of Minority Aging by
"The array of topics covered is amazing, making this book a valuable, significant resource for many disciplines...This multidisciplinary review of the literature on minority aging presents the scholarship related to public health and 'social, behavioral, and biological concerns' of aged minorities like no other publication. Graduate students will certainly be well-served by this book, as would faculty teaching aging at both undergraduate and graduate levels...Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries ..".while practitioners of gerontology, family medicine, and any professional involved in the care of the elderly will find some practical guidance in the second part of the book, it will really earn a place on the bookshelf of anyone and everyone with an interest in US sociology and the development of public policy for the elderly. With the general aging of the population and the book's accentuation of current issues, this outstanding review will become an indispensable tool."Healthy Aging Research This text provides up-to-date, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging among diverse racial and ethnic populations in the United States. It is the only book to focus on paramount public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, and addresses social, behavioral, and biological concerns for this population. The text distills the most important advances in the science of minority aging and incorporates the evidence of scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing. Additionally, the book incorporates the work of both established and emerging scholars to provide the broadest possible knowledge base on the needs of and concerns for this rapidly growing population. Chapters focus on subject areas that are recognized as being critical in understanding the well being of minority elders. These include sociology (Medicare, SES, work and retirement, social networks, context/neighborhood, ethnography, gender, demographics), psychology (cognition, stress, mental health, personality, sexuality, religion, neuroscience, discrimination), medicine/nursing/public health (mortality and morbidity, disability, health disparities, long-term care, genetics, dietary issues, health interventions, physical functioning), social work (caregiving, housing, social services, end-of-life care), and many other topics. The book focuses on the needs of four major ethnic groups: Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, African American, and Native American. Key Features: Provides current, comprehensive information about minority aging through a multidisciplinary lens Integrates information from scholars in gerontology, anthropology, psychology, public health, sociology, social work, biology, medicine, and nursing Emphasizes the principal public health issues concerning minority elders Offers "one-stop shopping" regarding the development of a substantial knowledge base about minority aging Includes recent progressive research pertaining to the social, cultural, psychological and health needs of elderly minority adults in the US
The Cultural Context of Aging by
The consequences of global aging will influence virtually all areas of life to be encountered in the 21st century, including the biological limits of healthy longevity, the generational contract and nature of family ties, the makeup of households and communities, symbolic representations of midlife and old age and attitudes toward disability and death. The new edition (3rd) of the award winning book The Cultural Context of Aging: World-Wide Perspectives covers all these topics and more. This unique volume uses a qualitative, case study approach to look at the rapidly emerging new cultural spaces and social scripts through which mid and late life are being encountered globally. It is completely revised with over thirty new original works covering China, Japan, Denmark, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Peru, indigenous Amazonia, rural Italy and the ethnic landscape of the U.S. A new feature of the book includes an integrated set of web book articles listed in the table of contents and available on the book's web site: (www.stpt.usf.edu/jsokolov/webbook). This is in addition to the largest web support of its kind providing literature updates, educational activities and even access to power points, graphics and video supplementing the text. In this one of a kind edited text, readers will encounter the laughing clubs of India, the centenarian diet plan of Okinawa, the waltzing elders of urban China, aging in a true woman-centered society, the elderscapes of Florida, the challenge of "Conscious Aging," Japan's robotic granny minders, Denmark's "Flexsecurity" long-term care system; the Midwest's elder-friendly communities, "Eldertopia" and the "Green House" model for dementia care. Welcome to your future!
Elder Abuse for Nurses by
The only text about elder abuse specifically for nurses in clinical settings. Nurses are required by law to report elder abuse even when it is suspected but not verified. This is the only research-based and clinically oriented text that applies what is known about different forms of elder abuse in domestic and long-term care settings to the everyday experiences of practicing nurses. Content addresses not only legal and ethical concerns, but also serves as an essential guide to caring for older adults, delineating the role of nurses in detecting, suspecting, reporting, assessing, providing interventions for, and preventing elder abuse in all clinical settings. Detailed and unfolding case studies throughout the text illustrate nurses in action as they address elder abuse in commonly encountered nurse client or nurse patient situations. Chapters show nurses in various health care settings how to address elder abuse issues relating to older adults, caregivers, and perpetrators. Each section provides nurses with crucial information about how to access essential resources for addressing specific aspects of elder abuse, including self-neglect, domestic abuse, abuse in long-term care settings, financial abuse, and sexual abuse. In-depth guides help nurses apply their usual nursing assessment and intervention skills to unusual situations when caring for older adults who are in actual or potentially abusive situations. In an easy-to-use and clinically applicable format, concise tools and guides throughout the book highlight core facets of elder abuse and the role of nurses. Each chapter concludes with Key Points: What Nurses Need to Know and Can Do highlighting the content that is most applicable to nursing care of older adults. KEY FEATURES: Presents essential facts about different forms of elder abuse and applies the information to nursing care of older adults in various clinical settingsDescribes key criteria for nurses to use for recognizing, assessing, providing interventions for, and reporting elder abuseAddresses legal, ethical, cultural, and interprofessional care considerationsProvides numerous guides to nursing assessment and interventions that address elder abuseCase examples illustrate nurses in action addressing many types of elder abuse situationsIncludes the words of older adults describing their experiences and perceptions of elder abuseIncludes the words and thoughts of nurses describing their reflections on and perceptions of elder abuse situationsEach chapter concludes with Key Points: What Nurses Need to Know and Can Do
Elderhood by
Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in General NonfictionA New York Times BestsellerLonglisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in NonfictionWinner of the WSU AOS Bonner Book AwardAs revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but often disparaged stage of life. For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That means most people alive today will spend more years in elderhood than in childhood, and many will be elders for 40 years or more. Yet at the very moment that humans are living longer than ever before, we've made old age into a disease, a condition to be dreaded, denigrated, neglected, and denied. Reminiscent of Oliver Sacks, noted Harvard-trained geriatrician Louise Aronson uses stories from her quarter century of caring for patients, and draws from history, science, literature, popular culture, and her own life to weave a vision of old age that's neither nightmare nor utopian fantasy--a vision full of joy, wonder, frustration, outrage, and hope about aging, medicine, and humanity itself. Elderhood is for anyone who is, in the author's own words, "an aging, i.e., still-breathing human being."
Old and Sick in America by
Since the introduction of Medicare and Medicaid in 1965, the American health care system has steadily grown in size and complexity. Muriel R. Gillick takes readers on a narrative tour of American health care, incorporating the stories of older patients as they travel from the doctor's office to the hospital to the skilled nursing facility, and examining the influence of forces as diverse as pharmaceutical corporations, device manufacturers, and health insurance companies on their experience. A scholar who has practiced medicine for over thirty years, Gillick offers readers an informed and straightforward view of health care from the ground up, revealing that many crucial medical decisions are based not on what is best for the patient but rather on outside forces, sometimes to the detriment of patient health and quality of life. Gillick suggests a broadly imagined patient-centered reform of the health care system with Medicare as the engine of change, a transformation that would be mediated through accountability, cost-effectiveness, and culture change.