Vulnerable populations include patients who are racial or ethnic minorities, children, elderly, socioeconomically disadvantaged, underinsured or those with certain medical conditions. Members of vulnerable populations often have health conditions that are exacerbated by unnecessarily inadequate healthcare. (National Institutes of Health)
SEARCH TERMS TO TRY
Combine the above terms with terms like these:
"quality of health care"
"health services accessibility"
**Using age limiters inside specific databases will help you narrow down these categories. Keep in mind that each age category can be defined differently depending on the researcher.
The National Survey on Children's HealthThe National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to quality health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context.
CDC Child Injury ReportUnintentional injuries—such as those caused by burns, drowning, falls, poisoning and road traffic—are the leading cause of morbidity and mortality among children in the United States. Each year, among those 0 to 19 years of age, more than 12,000 people die from unintentional injuries and more than 9.2 million are treated in emergency departments for nonfatal injuries.
Kids Count Data CenterThis online data center addresses the topic of child well-being. Includes data by state, and data that spans across states. Popular topics are children in poverty, high school dropouts, children in immigrant families, and children in single-parent families.
ChildStatsFeatures statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
BOOKS & ZINES
Affirmative Mental Health Care for Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth by Aron Janssen (Editor); Scott Leibowitz (Editor)This unique resource offers an in-depth, comprehensive look at different types of mental health needs of transgender and gender diverse youth, how these intersect with gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation, and provides practical information on how to ethically, responsibly, and sensitively care for these patients. Affirmative Mental Health Care for Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth: A Clinical Guide begins with three introductory chapters which contain practical information regarding assessment, psychological interventions, and the potential medical and surgical interventions that are indicated for youth with gender identity concerns. The remaining chapters are illustrated by multiple cases build around overarching chapter themes. Each case chapter opens with broad questions applicable to clinical practices, while the cases themselves focus on a particular co-occuring mental health condition. The case chapters are structured with intersectionality in mind, including elements of ethnic, racial, and cultural diversity, and the patients range over the full developmental spectrum, from pre-pubertal children to older adolescents. Chapter cases range in complexity as well, to provide readers with the tools they need to evaluate patients, and to assist in the decision of which presenting factors to prioritize in treatment at which time. Ending each chapter are clinical take-home messages, closing with additional practical knowledge that can be applied to other cases providers may see in their own practices. Written by expert clinicians in the field, Affirmative Mental Health Care for Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth: A Clinical Guide is an ideal resource not only for child and adolescent psychiatrists, but for clinicians across all mental health disciplines working with gender non-conforming youth, and who are interested in providing informed, affirmative, and intersectional care.
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2018-05-30
Participatory Methodologies to Elevate Children's Voice and Agency by Ilene R. Berson; Michael J. Berson; Colette GrayThis volume of the Research in Global Child Advocacy Series explores participatory methodologies and tools that involve children in research. Perspectives on the role of children have transitioned from viewing children as objects of research, to children as subjects of research, to acknowledgement of children as competent contributors and agents throughout the inquiry process. Researchers continue to explore approaches that honor the capacity of children, drawing on diverse methodologies to elevate children's voices and actively engage them in the production of knowledge. Nonetheless, despite these developments, questions over the extent to which children can be free of adult filters and influence merits sustained scholarly attention. The book includes chapters that critically examine methodological approaches that empower children in the research process. Contributions include empirical or practitioner pieces that operate from an empowerment paradigm and demonstrate the agenic capacity of children to contribute their perspectives and voices to our understanding of childhood and children's lives. The text also features conceptual pieces that challenge existing theoretical frameworks, critique research paradigms, and analyze dilemmas or tensions related to ethics, policy and power relations in the research process.
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
COVID-19 and Childhood Inequality by Nazneen Khan (Editor)The COVID-19 pandemic and the global response to it have disrupted the daily lives of children in innumerable ways. These impacts have unfolded unevenly, as nation, race, class, sexuality, citizenship status, disability, housing stability, and other dimensions of power have shaped the ways in which children and youth have experienced the pandemic. COVID-19 and Childhood Inequality brings together a multidisciplinary group of child and youth scholars and practitioners who highlight the mechanisms and practices through which the COVID-19 pandemic has both further marginalized children and exacerbated childhood disparities. Featuring an introduction and ten chapters, the volume "unmasks" childhood inequalities through innovative, real-time research on children's pandemic lives and experiences, situating that research within established child and youth literatures. Using multiple methods and theoretical perspectives, the work provides a robust, multidisciplinary, and holistic approach to understanding childhood inequality as it intersects with the COVID-19 pandemic, particularly in the USA. The chapters also ask us to consider pathways toward resilience, offering recommendations and practices for challenging the inequities that have deepened since the entrée of SARS-CoV-2 onto the global stage. Ultimately, the work provides a timely and vital resource for childhood and youth educators, practitioners, organizers, policymakers, and researchers. An illuminating volume, each chapter brings a much-needed focus on the varied and exponential impacts of COVID-19 on the lives of children and youth.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2022-03-10
Skimmed by Andrea FreemanBorn into a tenant farming family in North Carolina in 1946, Mary Louise, Mary Ann, Mary Alice, and Mary Catherine were medical miracles. Annie Mae Fultz, a Black-Cherokee woman who lost her ability to hear and speak in childhood, became the mother of America's first surviving set of identical quadruplets. They were instant celebrities. Their White doctor named them after his own family members. He sold the rights to use the sisters for marketing purposes to the highest-bidding formula company. The girls lived in poverty, while Pet Milk's profits from a previously untapped market of Black families skyrocketed. Over half a century later, baby formula is a seventy-billion-dollar industry and Black mothers have the lowest breastfeeding rates in the country. Since slavery, legal, political, and societal factors have routinely denied Black women the ability to choose how to feed their babies. In Skimmed, Andrea Freeman tells the riveting story of the Fultz quadruplets while uncovering how feeding America's youngest citizens is awash in social, legal, and cultural inequalities. This book highlights the making of a modern public health crisis, the four extraordinary girls whose stories encapsulate a nationwide injustice, and how we can fight for a healthier future.
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Children of the Prison Boom by Sara Wakefield; Christopher WildemanAn unrelenting prison boom, marked by racial disparities, characterized the latter third of the twentieth century. Drawing upon broadly representative survey data and qualitative interviews, Children of the Prison Boom describes the devastating effects of America's experiment in massincarceration for a generation of vulnerable children.Parental imprisonment has transformed from an event affecting only the unluckiest of children - children of parents whose involvement in crime would have been quite serious - to one that is remarkably common, especially for black children. Even for high-risk youth, Children of the Prison Boom showsthat paternal incarceration makes a bad situation worse, increasing mental health and behavioral problems, infant mortality, and child homelessness. These findings have broad implications for social inequality. Contrary to a great deal of research on the consequences of mass incarceration forinequality among adult men, these harms to children translate into large-scale increases in racial inequalities at the aggregate level. Parental imprisonment has become a distinctively American force for promoting intergenerational social inequality that should be placed alongside a decaying urbanpublic school system and highly concentrated disadvantaged populations in urban centers as factors that distinctively touch - and disadvantage - poor black children.More troubling, even if incarceration rates were reduced dramatically in the near future, the long-term harms of incarcerating marginalized men have yet to be fully revealed. Optimism about current reductions in the imprisonment rate and the resilience of children must therefore be set against thebackdrop of the children of the prison boom-a lost generation now coming of age.
Call Number: HV8886.U5W35 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
Promoting Mental Health in Children and Adolescents by Jane Meschan Foy (Editor)This ground-breaking resource focuses on primary and secondary prevention, guiding pediatric care clinicians in incorporating mental health screening and surveillance into well child visits and provides evidence-based interventions to care for children and adolescents with mental health issues. Gain in-depth guidance on the care of special populations of children who may be at increased risk for mental health problems: those exposed to adverse childhood experiences; children in military families; lesbian, gay and bisexual youth; children with gender expression and identity issues; children affected by racism; adolescents who are pregnant or parenting, and much more. TOPICS INCLUDE Promoting healthy child development Children exposed to adverse childhood experiences Caring for families new to the United States Violence prevention Healthy sleep, weight, use of media, and active living Children in foster or kinship care or involved with child welfare Children of divorce Adopted children Children with chronic medical conditions And more...
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
Preventing Child Trafficking by Jonathan Todres; Angela DiazChild trafficking is widely recognized as one of the critical issues of our day, prompting calls to action at the global, national, and local levels. Yet it is unclear whether the strategies and tools used to counter this exploitation--most of which involve law enforcement and social services--have actually reduced the prevalence of trafficking. In Preventing Child Trafficking, Jonathan Todres and Angela Diaz explore how the public health field can play a comprehensive, integrated role in preventing, identifying, and responding to child trafficking. Describing the depth and breadth of trafficking's impact on children while exploring the limitations in current responses, Todres and Diaz argue that public health frameworks offer important insights into the problem, with detailed chapters on how professionals and organizations can identify and respond effectively to at-risk and trafficked children. Drawing on the authors' years of experience working on this issue--Diaz is a doctor at a frontline medical center serving at-risk youth, victims, and survivors; Todres is a legal expert on legislative and policy initiatives to address child trafficking--the book maps out a public health approach to child trafficking, the role of the health care sector, and the prospects for building a comprehensive response. Providing readers with advice geared toward better understanding trafficking's root causes, this revelatory book concludes by mapping out a "public health toolkit" that can be used by anyone who is interested in preventing child trafficking, from policymakers to professionals who work with children.
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2019-12-17
Bullying by Jorge C. Srabstein (Editor); Joav Merrick (Editor)This book is published in order to raise world-wide medical awareness about the nature of bullying and its link to serious health risks. It highlights the global occurrence of this type of maltreatment, which has been found to jeopardise the lives of millions of young people around the world, who either bullied others and/or were victimised themselves. These groups of young people are at higher risk, than their cohorts, for three leading proximate causes of death, such as accidents, suicide and homicide. Furthermore, they have a greater risk of non-proximate lethal aetiologies including daily smoking, alcohol abuse, carrying and using weapons, eating disorders and running away episodes. This book is based upon two special issues published in the International Journal of Adolescent Medicine and Health and permission has been obtained from the publisher De Gruyter in Berlin to publish this modified and updated version of the papers in this book.