Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Education: Childhood Education and Care: Articles

This guide supports the Salem State University's Childhood Education program at the School of Education.

Overview

 
This page lists and describes articles and databases for EDU 805: Professional Lives of Teachers at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.  Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.  Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases. 

Key Databases

Search the following databases for articles: 

  • Academic Search Premier
    An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals.
  • Education Database
    Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
  • Education Research Complete
    Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
  • Educator's Reference Complete
    Provides full-text access to more than 450 journals and reports on best practices and educational research since 1980 with daily updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
  • ERIC - EBSCO
    Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.
  • ERIC - ProQuest
    Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
  • Professional Development Collection
    Provides current full-text access to over 240 journals for professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
  • Teacher Reference Center
    Provides full-text access to over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

Can't access full-text articles

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.
You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.
Enter '0' in the payment field.
The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.

What is a scholarly article?

A scholarly article is basically a formal presentation of original research.
Scholarly articles have many features which distinguish them from popular or secondary sources. In evaluating whether an article is scholarly, you should look for:
  • The publication source is usually a periodical (journal). 
  • The article is highly structured, usually with an abstract, introduction, methods, results and conclusion. 
  • Specific, technical or scientific language is used.
  • Original research is being presented for the first time. 
  • The authors have their affiliations noted (university, organization...).
  • There are citations within the text and a set of references at the end

Information Literacy Video Tutorials

Information Literacy Video Tutorials - Created by Research and Instruction Librarian, Cathy Fahey

Rukmal Ryder

Profile Photo
Rukmal Ryder
Contact:
Berry Library, 210 J
I can meet with you via Zoom or Microsoft Teams for research consultations. Please send me an email to set up a Zoom or Microsoft Team meeting.
978-542-6767
Website

What is primary literature?

What is "primary literature"?
  • Primary literature refers to ideas that are revealed in a public forum for the first time. Much of the primary literature appears in journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature. 
  • Staying current with the primary literature in a specialty enables researchers to fully understand the scope of developments in their field and to avoid duplication of work.
Is primary research available on the web?
Many government agencies are sources of highly reputable scholarly research reports and journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature.