Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Education: Childhood Education and Care: Databases

This guide supports the Salem State University's Childhood Education program at the School of Education.

Overview

 

This page lists and describes articles and databases for childhood education and care research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.  Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.  Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases. 

Databases

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory resource with over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction and audiobook titles, for children, teens and adults.

Research articles

Academic Search Premier

An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals.

Education Research Complete

Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.

ERIC - ProQuest

Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

Films on Demand

A collection of streaming films and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.

Childhood Development

Scholastic BookFlix

All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.

ABC Mouse

 

Important databases

 

NoveList Plus Video

Databases

Rukmal Ryder

Profile Photo
Rukmal Ryder
Contact:
Berry Library, 210 J
I can meet with you via Zoom or Microsoft Teams for research consultations. Please send me an email to set up a Zoom or Microsoft Team meeting.
978-542-6767
Website

More Childhood Education and Care Databases