Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

EDC 115: Exploring Education: How do I find articles?

Need to find scholarly articles?

Do you need to find scholarly (or peer-reviewed) sources for your assignment? That means that you need to find an article that was published in a peer-reviewed journal.

You've come to the right place! The boxes below will tell you what they are and how to identify them. This page lists information on how to search databases for education courses at  Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.  Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.  Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases. 

Information Literacy Video Tutorials - Created by Research and Instruction Librarian, Cathy Fahey

Key Education Databases Listing

 
  • Academic Search Premier
    An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals.
  • Education Database
    Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
  • Education Research Complete
    Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
  • Educator's Reference Complete
    Provides full-text access to more than 450 journals and reports on best practices and educational research since 1980 with daily updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
  • ERIC - EBSCO
    Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.
  • ERIC - ProQuest
    Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
    Provides an excellent first-step in researching any current social issue. Includes pro-con articles, opinion pieces, newspaper pieces, scholarly articles and information from many other types of sources, all full text.
  • Professional Development Collection
    Provides current full-text access to over 240 journals for professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
  • Sage Journals Online

    Teacher Reference Center

    Provides full-text access to over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

Sage Knowledge Database

Search Sage Journals Online and Sage Knowledge Databases for Educational Research Resources

Sage Knowledge database Education Reference titles

Research Methods in Education

SSU Library Discovery Search

Scholarly Vs. Popular

This image is created by Florida International University Library

Search Academic Search Premier Database

How to do a basic search in Academic Search Premier at Salem State University Library.

Link: https://youtu.be/ingvAtFqPZ0

Transcript

Creating an Advanced Search on EBSCOhost

 

Go to Salem State University Library home page

Scroll down to databases and select browse alphabetical list 

Select the letter E and click on EBSCO

Do an advanced EBSCOhost search

How to navigate SSU library web page

Scholarly vs. Popular

Video created by Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University

 

Is my article scholarly?

Scholarly articles (also known as peer-reviewed or academic articles) are written by researchers and are reviewed by other experts before being accepted for publication. You can use a library database to locate journal articles.

Are you wondering if the article you found is scholarly? Ask yourself these questions:

checkmarkIs this an article that was published in a journal? (Hint: Look near the bottom or top of the page for a journal name, volume number, issue number, year and page numbers.)

checkmarkDoes the article tell you where the author works (and maybe their contact details)? (Hint: Look for footnotes by the author's name.)

checkmarkIs there an abstract at the beginning of the article? (A summary of the article, written by the authors.)

checkmarkDoes the article end with a bibliography or list of works cited? (There could also be extensive footnotes.)

checkmarkIs the language in the article more technical than a typical magazine or newspaper?

checkmarkDoes the article's formatting look really boring? (No advertisements or glossy color pictures.)

If you answered YES to most of these questions, the article you're looking at is probably scholarly!