Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Occupational Therapy: Getting Started

.

Image result for you got this dog

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE...

BACKGROUND INFORMATION and JOURNAL ARTICLES

Background Information 

Centers for Disease Control - US public health statistics as well as information on many health issues and diseases.

Health People 2030 - Contains objectives that are core, or measurable, objectives that are associated with targets for the decade. Core objectives reflect high-priority public health issues and are associated with evidence-based interventions.

MedlinePlus - Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy to understand language. Includes access to drug information, a medical encyclopedia, and videos focusing on health related topics.

Merk Manual - a free comprehensive resource that covers a full range of medical specialties, including gastroenterology, cardiology, ophthalmology, dermatology, endocrinology, oncology, immunology, neurology, and psychiatry. There are dedicated sections for pediatrics and geriatrics.

The timely text addresses pressing social issues, many of which have significant public health implications, such as school bullying, domestic violence, and elder abuse. Current events have precipitated an in-depth discussion of injuries caused by mass casualty weapons, including biological and chemical agents.

 

Finding Journal Articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text - Resource that is focused on nursing as well as containing a wealth of articles on occupational therapy. Contains full text articles.

Google Scholar - A subset of Google which is full of citations and some full text of articles. This resource covers ALL subject areas, not just OT.

Library Search - Our discovery search system that contains the library catalog, ebooks, journal articles, newspaper articles. Like Google Scholar, this covers ALL subject areas, not just OT. 

MEDLINE - Large medical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Contains full text articles. 

OT Search - Resource that is focused on occupational therapy. Produced by the AOTA. No full text articles, but can obtain full text articles through our other library resources. 

 

FINDING BOOKS

Search for in

 

 

Can't find what you are looking for? Give interlibrary loan at try! Basically if you want something (articles, books, DVDs) we will borrow that item from another institution for you. It's that easy.

You can also try searching Worldcat which is the literally the world's largest catalog of resources.

HEALTH AND ZINES

Zines are a great way to talk about health sciences, nursing, and occupational therapy! Health practitioners know that health literacy exists on a spectrum and patients spend less and less time with their care providers. Zines can be an informal way to discuss health related topics in an easily digestible manner. 

You can find the SSU Zine Collection on the first floor of the library in the periodicals section.

 

 

To learn more about zines, check out this guide!

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Profile Photo
Nancy George
Contact:
Salem State University, Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons
Room G010C
352 Lafayette St.
Salem, MA 01970
ngeorge @ salemstate.edu
978-542-7182
Subjects: Dance, Music, Summer Bridge