Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are open access resources for information related to healthcare and nursing in general.
OPEN ACCESS TEXTBOOKS AND COURSEWARE
American Nurse Today
Official journal of the American Nurses Association (ANA).
Nursing Research and Practice
Peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies in nursing and midwifery.
Peer-reviewed, open access journal on nursing and midwifery.
Online Journal of Nursing Informatics
International, peer reviewed publication that is published three times a year and supports all functional areas of nursing informatics.
BioMed Central Journals
BioMed Central is an open access publisher of over 200 free online academic journals specializing in subjects related to science, technology and medicine. Areas of interest to social workers include public health, substance abuse, Alzheimer's research and health care policy.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
A directory which links to open access repositories from around the world. These repositories contain a wealth of freely available scholarly articles, data and dissertations from leading universities. Browse individual repositories or search across all repositories to find articles written by faculty and scholars from these universities.
ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Search open access journals, conference proceedings, academic repositories and recent (since 2014) monograph series.
Resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions
SEARCHING FOR OA ARTICLES
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 22% of which comes from sponsors and 78% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Open access articles published around the world in nursing.
PLOS ONE accepts research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.
We harvest Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use.
OPEN ACCESS BROWSER EXTENSIONS
A browser extension that connects you to open access versions of articles when they're available.
Open Access Button
A browser extension to help find open access articles and open data. If an item is paywalled, the project will start a request for you to access the research.