Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

NoveList Plus Guide: Author Read-alikes

A guide to NoveList Plus a complete readers' advisory resource for fiction and non-fiction reading. Includes summaries, reviews, book group discussion guides, author read-alikes, and a teaching with books section.

About Readers' Advisory Toolbox

About - from NoveList Plus help site:

All Readers' Advisory (RA) materials compiled in one spot - the RA Toolbox.  RA content includes: 

  • Learn about Genres: These short genre primers tell you everything you need to know to work with a fan of the genre. Each practical outline defines the genre, describes why readers like it, lists key titles and authors in the genre, and offers tips and suggestions for talking to readers. 
  • Author Read-alikes: Developed by Readers’ Advisory librarians, these articles are the ideal solution for readers who have finished all of their favorite author’s works and are ready to move on to those of a different writer.
  • Book Discussion Guides: Designed to prompt in-depth discussion with a book group, these guides can also be used by readers or students to expand their own experience of a book.
  • Feature Articles: Feature Articles introduce books at all reading levels for a specific subgenre or topic.  Use them to plan reading lists or to learn about a genre.
  • RA Newsletter
  • Featured Book Display Ideas
  • NoveList Resources
  • Around the Web

Author Read-alikes

Found under "Lists & Articles" along the top navigation bar,  Author Read-alikes are developed by Reader's Advisory librarians, these articles are the ideal solution for readers who have finished all of their favorite author's works and are ready to move on to those of a different writer.

 


Select an author, in each record you will find details about why readers like the author (having to do with their writing style, plot, characters, etc.) followed by suggested related authors (and links to them) whose writing is similar.

 

Book Discussion Guides

Feature Articles

Genres