This zine is created by SSU graduate students Erin Ahart and Adeola Osabiya. It is a journey around SSU campus highlighting the resources available to LGBTQ+ students. This zine is freely available here to read and to print. You can also find copies at the Help Desk at the Berry Library.
If you would like to print your own copy of this zine, please download the pdf version below.
Background Information
Centers for Disease Control - US public health statistics as well as information on many health issues and diseases.
Health People 2030 - Contains objectives that are core, or measurable, objectives that are associated with targets for the decade. Core objectives reflect high-priority public health issues and are associated with evidence-based interventions.
MedlinePlus - Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy to understand language. Includes access to drug information, a medical encyclopedia, and videos focusing on health related topics.
Merk Manual - a free comprehensive resource that covers a full range of medical specialties, including gastroenterology, cardiology, ophthalmology, dermatology, endocrinology, oncology, immunology, neurology, and psychiatry. There are dedicated sections for pediatrics and geriatrics.
The timely text addresses pressing social issues, many of which have significant public health implications, such as school bullying, domestic violence, and elder abuse. Current events have precipitated an in-depth discussion of injuries caused by mass casualty weapons, including biological and chemical agents.
Can't find what you are looking for? Give interlibrary loan at try! Basically if you want something (articles, books, DVDs) we will borrow that item from another institution for you. It's that easy.
Developing Clinical Competence by
A newly updated, user-friendly resource for occupational therapy assistant students and new practitioners, Developing Clinical Competence: A Workbook for the OTA, Second Edition assists readers in developing practical problem-solving and "'real-life"' skills essential for fieldwork and clinical practice. Maintaining the easy-to-read workbook format from the First Edition, this book is filled with learning activities, worksheets, and detailed answer explanations, as well as expanded chapter content and revised references. Marie J. Morreale breaks down competencies into step-by-step units to allow for independent study. With multiple choice, matching, true/false, and fill-in-the-blanks questions; case studies; vignettes; and experiential activities, this Second Edition presents helpful tips in their most useful format. Guiding the reader through occupational therapy clinical decision making, professional conduct, and meeting standards of care for various practice areas, each chapter is fully independent and can be read in the order most conducive to the reader's individual learning needs. This text can help readers measure attainment of knowledge and skills when preparing for fieldwork, the national certification exam, or transitioning to entry-level practice. New for the Second Edition: Fundamental topics including effective communication, assessment of client function, safety, supervision, documentation, group process, and department management Additional questions regarding behavioral health and pediatric practice Expanded content for professionalism, ethics, cultural sensitivity, and interventions to support occupations Topics such as wheeled mobility, hand function development, infection control, feeding/eating, wound care basics, quality improvement, and more Added content regarding the American Occupational Therapy Association documents, evidence-informed practice, advocacy, chronic conditions, and new trends Incorporated concepts and principles from the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, Fourth Edition Instructors in educational settings can also visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional instructional resources. Addressing fundamental areas of occupational therapy practice for a wide variety of conditions, situations, and practice settings, Developing Clinical Competence: A Workbook for the OTA, Second Edition includes helpful hints and practical clinical tips to help the OTA implement appropriate interventions and communicate more effectively.
Occupational Therapy and Dementia by
With contemporary approaches based on theory and the lived experience of dementia, Occupational Therapy and Dementia is written using an occupational justice lens. It examines how core elements of how occupational therapy may support the person living with dementia through valued activity in continuing engagement in their lives, sustaining their identity and sense of purpose. This edited collection critically analyses traditional thinking about dementia practice from over 40 contributors, challenging readers to reflect and develop their work. Drawing on policy and legislation related to health and social-care, readers are given tools to focus their practice towards what is important to the person living with dementia. Most importantly, this book gives a voice to people living with dementia, emphasising their expertise. A combined emphasis on human rights and occupational justice for people living with dementia offers both a theoretical and practical frame to develop your occupational therapy practice.
Making Play Just Right: Activity Analysis, Creativity and Playfulness in Pediatric Occupational Therapy by
At the heart of Making Play Just Right: Unleashing the Power of Play in Occupational Therapy is the belief that pediatric occupational therapy is most effective when it incorporates play. The Second Edition is a unique resource that provides the background, history, evidence, and general knowledge needed to use a playful approach in pediatric occupational therapy. Specific examples help therapists use activity analysis with professional reasoning to best adopt these strategies. The second edition has been expanded to include a variety of new topics, including play in the schools, international influences, parent - child play, and much more.
Occupational and Activity Analysis by
Newly updated to reflect the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, Fourth Edition (OTPF-4), Occupational and Activity Analysis, Third Edition outlines the process of conducting occupational and activity analyses for occupational therapy students and clinicians. Occupational therapy practitioners use occupations and activities not only as a goal but also as a treatment medium, so understanding both the uniqueness of a client's occupations and how an activity can be used therapeutically is essential. This text is an introduction to both realms, first by explaining the process by which to peel back the layers of an occupation or activity to reveal its intricacy and then examining how to use this information for evaluation and intervention. Dr. Heather Thomas has updated Occupational and Activity Analysis, Third Edition to reflect the significant changes made to the activity analysis process and terminology in the OTPF-4. Conducting either an occupational or activity analysis investigates not only what is required for full participation but also looks at the meaning ascribed to it by the people, groups, or communities engaging in it and how personal and environmental contexts impact participation. What's new and included in the Third Edition: Chapters throughout the text have been updated to reflect the changes in the OTPF-4. Updated educational standards set by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) for doctoral and master's level and occupational therapy assistant programs. Additional cases and relevant clinical examples. Updated tables, boxes, and figures throughout. Expanded section on communication management. Appendices containing updated occupational and activity analysis forms. Example of a full activity analysis. Updated and added photos to help students understand concepts. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for forms, videos, and PowerPoint presentations to be used for teaching in the classroom. As a foundational skill, occupational and activity analysis is utilized throughout students' careers and into their lives as practitioners, making Occupational and Activity Analysis, Third Edition the perfect textbook for the occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant student, faculty, or clinician.
Occupational therapy practice guidleines for adults living with serious mental illness by
This Practice Guideline provides an overview of the occupational therapy process for individuals living with SMI. It is based on a systematic review process addressing five focused questions examining the evidence for occupational therapy interventions to promote ADLs and IADLs, rest and sleep, leisure, and social participation; support employment and education; promote health and wellness; provide early intervention to reduce effects of SMI; and reduce internalized stigma. The guideline uses key concepts from the 3rd edition of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process and is essential for clinical decision making in occupational therapy practice with this population.