Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CoRIS: Coral Reef Information System
information portal that provides access to NOAA coral reef information and data products with emphasis on the U.S. states, territories and remote island areas.
Coral Disease and Health Consortium
The CDHC is a network of field and laboratory scientists, coral reef managers, and agency representatives devoted to understanding coral health and disease. It is extensive, highly collaborative, and completely voluntary with over 150 partners currently.
maintained by the Nature Conservancy, is devoted to providing coral reef managers with information about building coral reef resilience through marine protected area design and management. It includes training module toolkits, case studies, a resilience training course, and a listing of publications and further resources.
An online information system on coral reefs.
OPEN ACCESS DATABASES - AQUACULTURE, FISH, FISHERIES
Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes
The Catalog of Fishes (now published online as Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes) covers more than 53,000 species and subspecies, over 10,000 genera and subgenera, and includes in excess of 16,000 bibliographic references.
A global information system providing a validated checklist of all the world's species (plants, animals, fungi, and microbes).
Encyclopedia of Life
Synthesizes biodiversity knowledge about all known species, including their taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being.
A database of information on terrestrial, freshwater and marine algae.
Harmful Algae Event Database
access to information on harmful algal events, harmful algae monitoring and management systems worldwide, current use of taxonomic names of harmful algae, and information on biogeography of harmful algal species.
THE BIOLOGY OF CORAL REEFS by Coral reefs represent the most spectacular and diverse marine ecosystem on the planet as well as a critical source of income for millions of people. However, the combined effects of human activity have led to a rapid decline in the health of reefs worldwide, with many now facing completedestruction. Their world-wide deterioration and over-exploitation has continued and even accelerated in many areas since the publication of the first edition in 2009. At the same time, there has been a near doubling in the number of scientific papers that have been written in this short time aboutcoral reef biology and the ability to acclimate to ocean warming and acidification. This new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, incorporating the significant increase in knowledge gained over the last decade whilst retaining the book's focus as a concise and affordable overview of thefield.The Biology of Coral Reefs provides an integrated overview of the function, physiology, ecology, and behaviour of coral reef organisms. Each chapter is enriched with a selection of 'boxes' on specific aspects written by internationally recognised experts. As with other books in the Biology ofHabitats Series, the emphasis in this book is on the organisms that dominate this marine environment although pollution, conservation, climate change, and experimental aspects are also included. Indeed, particular emphasis is placed on conservation and management due to the habitat's criticallyendangered status. A global range of examples is employed which gives the book international relevance.
Call Number: QH 95.8 .S54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-10
Coral Reefs by This book provides current research on the ecosystems of coral reefs, as well as the environmental impact and current threats to the coral reefs. Chapter One studies proteins responsive to variable temperature exposure in the reef-building coral Seriatopora hystrix. Chapters Two and Three examine the impact of arachidonic acid's (ArA) on coral reefs. The final chapter discusses environmental monitoring in the Gulf of Thailand, and the use of coral skeletons as metal pollution recorders.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-01-01