Kids Count Data CenterThis online data center addresses the topic of child well-being. Includes data by state, and data that spans across states. Popular topics are children in poverty, high school dropouts, children in immigrant families, and children in single-parent families.
ChildStatsFeatures statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
UNESCO Institute for StatisticsThe primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
UN Population DivisionSearch by specific country to see population trends including migration and immigration.
Migration Policy InstituteShowcases in-depth and latest data on immigrant trends and patterns in the United States and around the world.
The World BankFree and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
OECD Library StatisticsThe online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
GallupGallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 75 years. Gallup's reputation for delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel is the cornerstone of the organization. Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.
Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Marist College Institute for Public OpinionMIPO is a survey research center at Marist College and it brings to you The Marist Poll. This online poll bureau covers a wide range of topics including politics, money, family, spirituality, sports, entertainment, and more. It is also a source of expert information resources, helpful to research.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC)The University of Chicago's NORC conducts social science research projects in the area of public interest. The projects span local, regional, national, and international levels.
RealClearPoliticsRealClearPolitics (RCP) is an independent, non-partisan media company that is the trusted source for the best news, analysis and commentary. Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RealClearPolitics covers all aspects of the U.S. political process including policy, elections and government.
UNITED STATES STATISTICS
Torn ApartA rapidly deployed critical data & visualization intervention in the USA’s 2018 “Zero Tolerance Policy” for asylum seekers at the US Ports of Entry and the humanitarian crisis that has followed.
American Fact FinderFind popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.The best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
Measure of Americaprovides easy-to-use yet methodologically sound tools for understanding the distribution of well-being and opportunity in America and stimulating fact-based dialogue about issues we all care about: health, education, and living standards.
Rural Data PortalThe RURAL DATA PORTAL is a simple, easy to use, on-line resource that provides essential information on the social, economic, and housing characteristics of communities in the United States. The RURAL DATA PORTAL is targeted toward rural communities, but a wide range of information is presented for the nation, states, and counties for rural, suburban and urban areas.
U.S. Census BureauThis site includes information on People and Households, Business and Industry, Geography, Newsroom, Special Topics, Population Data, and Quick Facts by State.
U.S. Bureau of LaborThe principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Economic Policy InstituteAbout EPI. The Economic Policy Institute (EPI), a non-profit, non-partisan think tank, was created in 1986 to broaden discussions about economic policy to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers.
Institute for Research on Labor and EmploymentIRLE brings together faculty from several academic departments and supports multidisciplinary research about labor and employment relations. IRLE sponsors many faculty-run research centers; links to all of the centers may be found on the Programs page.
Information is BeautifulInformation is Beautiful is dedicated to helping you make clearer, more informed decisions about the world. All our visualizations are based on facts & data: constantly updated, revised & revisioned.
UNSD Environmental StatisticsUNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables were selected based on the current demands for international environmental statistics and the availability of internationally comparable data. Indicator tables, charts and maps with relatively good quality and coverage across countries, as well as links to other international sources, are provided under each theme.
The World CountsFind shocking environmental facts and statistics on everything from child labor and slavery to toxic waste and climate change. We give you “environmental awareness facts” on the current state of the world and how it is affected by our choice of products.
National Center for Atmospheric ResearchWe have loads of data that we make accessible to the Earth system science community, from observations taken during NCAR-supported field campaigns to images of the Sun's corona, and everything in between.
National Center for Health StatisticsThe primary health statistics agency for the U.S. Includes statistics on topics such as diseases and prevention, injuries, healthcare and insurance, life stages and populations, and lifestyles.
Health of Boston ReportAnnual report reviewing of select health conditions, risk behaviors, and social determinants of health in the city of Boston.
Centers for Disease ControlCDC, through its Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH), works to promote environments where youth can gain fundamental health knowledge and skills, establish healthy behaviors for a lifetime, connect to health services, and avoid becoming pregnant or infected with HIV or STDs.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities ReportsThe National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.
FDA Drug Trials SnapshotDrug Trials Snapshots provide consumers and healthcare professionals with concise information about who participated in clinical trials that supported the FDA approval of new drugs.
Gender Data PortalThe Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.
Women in ScienceNumerous studies have found that women in STEM fields publish less, are paid less for their research and do not progress as far as men in their careers. However, there is very little data at the international or even country level showing the extent of these disparities. Through SAGA, the UIS has been working with partners in countries and regional organizations, to develop a toolkit that includes methodologies, indicators and frameworks to produce more precise data and make better use of existing information.
Turning Promises into Action: Gender Equality in the 2030 AgendaUN Women’s new flagship report uncovers significant gaps for women’s empowerment and puts forth a robust agenda to shift gears. It spotlights inequalities and challenges faced by women and identifies gaps and opportunities for gender equality in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
Criminalizing Survival: A Resource of Curricula and ActivitiesThis new resource includes curriculum units and activities that can be used for political education focused on the intersections between racialized gender-based violence and criminalization. Some of the activities also address the problems of carceral feminisms and crimmigration.
Rich Blocks Poor BlocksRich Blocks Poor Blocks maps income, rent and other data in nearly every state, county, zip code and census tract in the United States.
Gun Violence ArchiveThe Gun Violence Archive is an online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 6,500 law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA is an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
Indicators of School Crime and SafetyThe new report, Indicators of School Crime and Safety 2018, is the 21st in a series of annual publications produced jointly by the National Center for Education Statistics, in the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences, and the Bureau of Justice Statistics in the U.S. Department of Justice. The report presents statistics on crime and safety at schools and on college campuses. It covers topics such as victimization, school conditions, school environment, safety and security measures at school and criminal incidents at postsecondary institutions.
The Campus Safety and SecurityThis analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding.
Clinic ViolenceThe National Clinic Violence Survey is compiled by the staff of the Feminist Majority Foundation's National Clinic Access project, measuring anti-abortion violence and harassment. This survey is one of the most comprehensive studies of anti-abortion violence and harassment directed at clinics, patients, health care workers and volunteers in the United States and includes abortion providers of various organizational affiliations as well as independent clinics.
National Network to End Domestic ViolenceThe National Network to End Domestic Violence (NNEDV), a social change organization, is dedicated to creating a social, political, and economic environment in which violence against women no longer exists.
Domestic Violence Homicides in MAJDI identifies cases of domestic violence homicide in Massachusetts through a combination of media reports, alerts from our members, and notification by the district attorneys offices.
Global Terrorism DatabaseThe Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2017 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 180,000 cases.
DatacommonThe MetroBoston DataCommon provides a wealth of information about the region’s people and communities through a variety of topics -- from arts and education to the environment and transportation.
Boston Area Research InitiativeBARI seeks to spur original, cutting-edge research in the greater Boston area that both advances urban scholarship and improves public policy and practice.
Ending Homelessness in BostonFind information on the services and programs available to homeless people in Boston, as well as data and reports on homelessness in the city.
Boston Indicators ProjectA project of the Boston Foundation, that helps facilitate an understanding of Boston and its neighborhoods in a regional, national, and global context.