Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

IDS255: Comparative Religions: Overview of Library Sources

Starting Places: Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Maybe you've always been curious about a temple you drive past on the way to school, but don't know where to begin researching Theravada Buddhism. Or maybe you have no idea of a site you'd like to visit, and want to start by deciding between several religions that you find equally interesting but don't know much about.

Encyclopedia articles are a great place to find out what you don't know, to get a general handle on the contours of a subject and the questions that surround it, and to discover a more specific angle that you're interested in focusing your research on.

Search the Catalog for Books

Search within the NOBLE catalog to look at the holdings of SSU and the 27 other libraries in the consortium. Limit your search to a particular library by clicking on the drop-down menu that says NOBLE. You can also click on the drop-down menu that says Keyword to search within a particular field (e.g., Title or Author).

Try the Advanced Search for more complex queries.

Videos

Browse for inspiration within the Philosophy and Religion collection of our video databases, Films on Demand and Kanopy.  

 

Why Use Library Resources?

1. Quality: a higher standard of reliable information than you'll find on the open Web

  • Articles in library databases tend to be peer-reviewed or from reputable popular sources.
  • Books in the library collection have been intentionally selected for their quality and relevance for study at this university.

2. Convenience: many articles and some books are accessible online at all hours

3. Access to scholarly material: it simply isn't available through Google to the same degree

Finding Articles in Library Databases

You'll find scholarly and general-interest articles, most of them available in full text online, through the following library databases: