Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this Guide
This guide was written and developed by librarian Carol Zoppel and includes links to and information about key library resources for the study of World War II.
To get help or ask questions about this guide, please contact Elizabeth McKeigue, Dean of the Library, who is the library subject liaison for History for Academic Year 2022-2023.
Primary Sources - War Crimes
International Military Tribunal for Germany - Nuremberg War Trials (Avalon Project)
Documents from the Nuremberg Trials including daily reports. From the Yale University Law School's Avalon Project.
Nuremberg Trials Project - Harvard Law School
Digitized collection of "approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and the subsequent twelve trials of other accused Nazi war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT) during the period 1945-49."
Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection (Cornell University)
"The Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). The Donovan papers contain both original statements from the defendants in German and typed translations in English prepared by the Allies."
Primary Sources - Prisoners of War
Holocaust - Primary Sources
Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
This large collection of the papers of Hannah Arendt from 1906-1975 includes over 25,000 items of correspondence, articles, lectures, speeches, book manuscripts and the transcripts of Adolf Eichmann's trial proceedings.
Visual History Archive Online (USC Shoah Foundation)
This site offers 51,000 testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the European Holocaust, the Nanjing Massacre (1937-38) and the Rwandan Tutsi Genocide (1994). Searchable by experience group, person or location. Results can be limited by language. Free registration to the site is required for use.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University)
Includes 4,100 "testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators."
Holocaust Rescue and Relief - Harvard University
Digitized records of the Unitarian Service Committee, 1939-1967. "During and after World War II, the Service Committee aided hundreds of displaced persons in Europe. They established food and clothing distribution centers, hospitals, and homes for children. They also aided hundreds of people in their efforts to leave war-torn Europe and establish new lives for themselves in the United States. "
Primary Sources - Foreign Relations
Primary Sources - Homefront
After the Day of Infamy: "Man on the Street" Interviews following the attack on Pearl Harbor (American Memory)
200 transcripts and audio-recordings of regular Americans describing their thoughts on the attack of Pearl Harbor, from December 8, 1941-February 1942. Searchable by keyword and browsable by name, subject, or geographic location. From the American Memory Project, Library of Congress.
World War II Posters (Library of Congress)
Digitized World War II era posters. From the Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs catalog.
Powers of Persuasion: Poster Art from World War II (National Archives)
Consists of 11 digitized images and one sound file, originally presented in an exhibit at the National Archive.
Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information, Black & White Negatives
Collection of approximately 175,000 digitized images from the Farm Security Administration, 1937-1942, the Office of War Information, 1942-1944, and other government agencies. Together they "form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944."
The American Presidency Project (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Includes documents and audio/visual materials from the Roosevelt (FDR) and Truman Administrations.
Military Battles - Primary Sources
World War II Military Situation Maps, 1944-1945 (American Memory)
This site contains 416 digitized maps of troop positions and 115 printed reports in the European theatre from June 6, 1944 to July 6, 1945. Also includes both interactive and printable timelines of the Battle of the Bulge, 12/16/1944 - 1/18/1945. From the Library of Congress, American Memory Project and Geography and Map Division.
Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
Personal accounts of American veterans, including those of World War II. Includes personal narratives (audio and video-taped as well as written memoirs), correspondence and visual images. Searchable by war, branch of service, gender, prisoner of war, etc.