Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journals Available from SSU
To find out if Salem State has access to a journal, use the Periodicals/E-Book Directory. Type the name of the publication. A list of databases in which the journal appears will come up, along with a link to the catalog if the library has print copies of the journal. You may search for articles published in the journal by clicking on the name of one of the databases. Please note: the dates a journal is included in each database is found to the left of the database name.
Access the Library from Home
- Use your Salem State username and password to log in to library databases, periodicals, and ebooks from home, even when the physical library is closed.
- Don't know your username and password?
- Students, log in to Navigator to reset your password; faculty must log in to Polaris.
- For more information see Information Technology Services.
Databases for American Studies
America: History & Life
One of the main databases for the study of American History, it includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, collections and dissertations on the the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Extensive full-text archive of back issues of scholarly journal articles. JSTOR covers many subjects, but you can limit your search to a specific discipline or disciplines. Though the most recent 3 to 5 years of journals are not available in JSTOR, some links are provided to these articles available in Project Muse.
This is a multidisciplinary, full-text collection of recent scholarly journals.
A large, multidisciplinary database. Many of the journals are peer-reviewed and available in full-text.
Academic Search Premier
A large, multidisciplinary database of abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and popular sources.
Oxford Journals Online
An online collection of over 200 online journals published by Oxford University Press.
This is a huge, multidisciplinary database of mostly full-text articles.
Massachusetts Historical Society Online
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.
MLA International Bibliography
Foremost database for the study of language, literature, folklore and linguistics.
American Studies Journals: a directory of worldwide resources
This is a collection of the tables of contents of 50 journals on American Studies published throughout the world. While searching by subject or keyword is not available, one may browse each journal's ariticle titles. There is also a Featured Articles section that lists recent articles of particular interest.
Gale U.S. History in Context
Retrieves a range of sources on a topic, including reference sources, articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, and images, as well as audio and video clips.
Freely Accessible Online Journals