Research Guides: EDC 227 Environmental Justice for PreK-8th Curriculum: Databases

Environmental Justice Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming films and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.

Streaming Videos on Environmental Justice from Films on Demand

TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Please use your SSU email address to create an account so that you may access TeachingBooks.

View tutorial:

Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
A state-supported resource from the MBLC.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.

Opposing View Points

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:

Tutorial

Gale Environment Justice Video Series

"Environmental Justice." Gale Video Series, 8 Nov. 2021. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, link.gale.com/apps/doc/TXOJYB412754813/OVIC?u=mlin_n_state&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=302d93d8. Accessed 18 Sept. 2023.

Environmental Justice Databases

Gale/Cengage This link opens in a new window
Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints: Environmental Justice

Gale in Context: Global Issues: Environmental Justice

OverDrive This link opens in a new window
24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming. View tutorial:

OverDrive: Environmental Justice Topics ebooks and audiobooks

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This resource covers two recently published (2017) criminal justice handbooks.
Select Criminal Justice and unlocked to access our library's material.

The Oxford Handbooks Online

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of scholarly, government and general interest articles on human impacts to the environment. Some full-text is available through links to other databases.
PBS Video Collection: 4th edition This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.

PBS Alexander Street Public Broadcasting Service. The SPILL

WGBH, E. F. (Producer), & . (2010). The Spill. [Video/DVD] Public Broadcasting Service. Retrieved from https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/the-spill

Environmental Justice Topics

Ozone
Diesel Particulate Matter
Air Toxics Cancer Risk
Air Toxics Respiratory HI
Toxic Releases to Air
Traffic Proximity
Lead Paint
Superfund Proximity
RMP Facility Proximity
Hazardous Waste Proximity
Underground Storage Tanks
Wastewater Discharge
Climate Change:
Flood Risk
Wildfire Risk
100 Year Floodplain
Sea Level Rise (NOAA)

From the EPA's Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool https://ejscreen.epa.gov/mapper/

EDC 227 Environmental Justice for PreK-8th Curriculum: Databases

Databases

TeachingBooks

Scholastic BookFlix

Environmental Justice Databases

Opposing View Points

Environmental Justice Databases

Environmental Justice Topics