Skip to Main Content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

EDU 739: Literacy Instruction and Assessment in the Early Childhood and Elementary Classroom: Databases

Databases

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Teaching Books Tutorial

Please use your SSU email address to create an account so that you may access TeachingBooks.

Scholastic BookFlix

All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.

Scholastic BookFlix Tutorial

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory resource with over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction and audiobook titles, for children, teens and adults.

NovelIst Plus Database Tutorial

ERIC - EBSCO

Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.

EBSCO ERIC Tuotial

Academic Search Complete

An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.

Education Research Complete

Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.

OverDrive

24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming.

Literature Criticism

The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Our access provides access to August, 2016.

Niche Academy

A collection of tutorials that will help you understand how to search and use our library resources.

Transparent Languages for Libraries

Online language learning system.

EBSCO eBook Collection

EBSCO eBook Collection is a collection of over 3000 online books and resource materials available through the web. Many different subject areas are covered including business, buying and selling a home, careers, complete idiot's guides, computer how to books, consumer health, consumer law, psychology, self help, sports coaching, sports how to books, study guides, travel, and web development. Note: The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection is included in this large resource.

EBSCO eBook Collection Tutorial

EBSCO

Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks.

Best Bet Databases for Articles

Kids/Teens/Adults Books from NOBLE OverDrive Database | Libby App

OverDrive Kids NOBLE

 OverDrive for Kids NOBLE Link

Sing in as a NOBLE library patron. Use your SSU Clippercard barcode number which is in the back of your ClipperCard.

Libby (Overdrive) 

Libby is a free app where you can borrow ebooks, digital audiobooks, and magazines from your SSU or public library

             

Teaching Books: Search Children's Literature Resources

TeachingBooks (PreK-12)

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. This one stop database provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.

How to access TeachingBooks Database? Log in here: Please use your SSU student email to create an account or go to TeachingBooks.net/SignIn

Username: salemstate
Password: reads! (case-insensitive)

 

      

      

Boston Public Library eCard and Online Resources

Boston Public eCard Registration: Sign up for an eCard

Boston Public Library Kids Online Resources

  • Scholastic BookFlix

    BookFlix is a literacy resource that pairs interactive, fictional video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks for kids 3-9 years old.

  • Scholastic Teachables

    An online hub of 30,000 ready-to-use printable learning resources for every subject, pre-K to 6th grade.

  • PebbleGo

    A curricular content hub for K-2 students. Informational articles, activities, and literacy support for students.

  • TumbleMath

    Online math eBooks, grades K-6.

  • OverDrive for Kids

    Downloadable eBooks and audiobooks for children, including Boston Public Schools summer reading lists.

  • NoveList K-8 Plus

    Helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.

  • Gale In Context: Elementary

    Designed for children in kindergarten through grade 5, this resource includes reference books, news and magazine articles, and audiovisual materials covering a wide range of topics, as well as teacher resources and a translation tool.

  • Gale In Context: Middle School

    Designed for middle school students, this resource includes magazine and news articles, reference books, primary sources, and audiovisual materials covering a wide range of topics, as well as research and writing tips and teacher resources.

  • Kanopy

    Kanopy includes acclaimed movies and documentaries on-demand from award-winning filmmakers. Browse the collection of over 30,000 documentaries, classic films, world cinema, popular movies and films for children of all ages. Users can watch up to 6 titles per calendar month.

    .

 

Why are databases and why you need them?

Salem State University Library TeachingBooks link.

Finding the Right Books at Every Level