Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

EDC 425 Children's Literature and Social Justice: Online Resources

Online Resources

 

Association for L+A2:H28ibrary Service for Children; Awards List https://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia
NoveList Dabaase SSU username and password to log in
School Library Journal Book Reviews SSU username and password to log in
Social Justice Books: Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books https://socialjusticebooks.org/guide-for-selecting-anti-bias-childrens-books/
Coretta Scott King Award https://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/coretta-scott-king-book-awards
We Need Diverse Books https://diversebooks.org/
Multicultural Children's Books Day https://multiculturalchildrensbookday.com/multicultural-reading-resources/diversity-book-lists-for-kids/
Cooperative Children's Book Center: Diversity Resources https://ccbc.education.wisc.edu/literature-resources/diversity-resources-multicultural-literature/
Diverse Book Finder https://diversebookfinder.org/books/
Lee and Low books https://www.leeandlow.com/
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature http://www.dawcl.com/introduction.html
Learning for Justice https://www.learningforjustice.org/
Project Lit Community https://www.vocabulary.com/articles/tips-and-tricks/project-lit-communitys-2020-2021-book-selections/
First Book Marketplace https://www.fbmarketplace.org/free-resources/
Unite for Literacy https://www.uniteforliteracy.com/
International Children's Digital Library http://en.childrenslibrary.org/
Library of Congress: Kids books and related information http://read.gov/kids/
Diverse Families https://diversefamilies.org/
Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks https://www.doe.mass.edu/frameworks/current.html
Rainbow Book List (ALA) https://glbtrt.ala.org/rainbowbooks/rainbow-books-lists
USBBY Outstanding International Books (OIB) Award https://www.usbby.org/outstanding-international-books-list.html
Specific Learning Disability: Indiana University Library https://libraries.indiana.edu/specific-learning-disability
Bank Street Best Children's Books of the Year https://www.bankstreet.edu/library/center-for-childrens-literature/childrens-book-committee/best-childrens-books-of-the-year/
Carter G. Woodson Book Award (NCSS) https://www.socialstudies.org/get-involved/carter-g-woodson-book-award-and-honor-winners
the conscious kid https://www.theconsciouskid.org/
Ezra Jack Keats Foundation https://www.ezra-jack-keats.org/section/ezra-jack-keats-book-awards/
Jane Addams Children's Book Awards https://www.janeaddamschildrensbookaward.org/
Children's Book Council | Diversity http://www.cbcdiversity.com/
Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award https://www.dollygrayaward.com/home
Walter Dean Myers Award https://diversebooks.org/programs/walter-awards/
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature http://www.dawcl.com/
Teaching for change https://www.teachingforchange.org/
Safe@School https://www.safeatschool.ca/resources/resources-on-equity-and-inclusion/racism/tool-kits-and-activities
Scholastic Resources for Teachers http://teacher.scholastic.com/reading/index.htm