Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Black Lives Matter

Finding Related Articles

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR Search here for for articles on racism, oppression, social justice, and police brutality related to the social sciences and humanities

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher - Find reports and analysis on a variety of current issues. Includes background information, pro/con debates, and a chronology of the issue. Search for "Racial Profiling" and you will find a report written in 2013 that provides great detail.

Academic Search Premier - Search here for for articles on racism, oppression, social justice, and police brutality in academic publications, newspapers, and popular magazines. 

Subject-Specific Databases

Historical Abstracts - Search for racism, slavery, oppression and colonialism in world history. 

America: History and Life - Search ro racism, slavery, oppression, police brutality, and social justice with a focus on American history. 

PsychINFOSearch for related research articles linked to psychology

Criminal Justice Abstracts - Search for related research articles linked to criminal justice

Social Work AbstractsSearch for related research articles linked to social work

SocINDEX with Full Text - Search for related research articles linked to sociology

Suggested Search Terms

  • civil rights
  • police brutality
  • racial profiling
  • race relations
  • racism and the united states
  • urban development and white flight
  • social justice

Police/Police Brutality/Racial Profiling

Race Relations and Intersectionality

Social Justice and Activism

White Privilege