Research Guides: Music and Dance: McLyman DAN 101

Find Books - SSU Library catalog

Search for in

Some Useful Library Databases

These databases will help you research your inspiration topics. Academic Search Premier will have both scholarly and popular magazine and newspaper articles. JSTOR will have images and scholarly articles. Opposing Viewpoints offers a variety of sources such as audio, images, video, opinion, scholarly articles and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
Also includes ArtSTOR Containing more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. Besides worldwide art and architecture reproductions from many time periods, ArtSTOR contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.
3-5 year embargo on journals.
Complete archival collection.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:

Finding Works of Art - SSU Library Databases

Visual art

ArtSTOR
Now a part of JSTOR - click on Images then search. Contains more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. Besides worldwide art and architecture reproductions from many time periods, ArtSTOR contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.

Music

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A streaming classical music listening library, with acess to almost 130,000 CDs with more than 1.9 million tracks. Updated monthly. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
View tutorial:

Music resources from BPL
Sign up for a BPL ecard to access these collections https://www.bpl.org/ecard/

Film and video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Large, streaming video collection. View tutorial:
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming films and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.

Finding Works of Art - Internet Resources

Finding poems

Poetry Foundation
Poetry Foundation lets you explore poems on a variety of topics and themes.
Academy of American Poets
The Academy of American Poets lets you browse their collection of poems by theme, occasion, and form.
Poets Resist | Glass Poetry
A collection of poems inspired by current events.

Finding visual art

Museum of Fine Arts Collection Search
Explore the collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
The Met Collection
Browse the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.
Smithsonian Collection Search
Search the collections of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C.
Explore Art | Peabody Essex Museum
Explore the collection of the Peabody Essex Museum.
Art | Punto Urban Art Musuem
Explore the murals of Salem's Punto Urban Art Museum.

MLA Citation Help

For help citing sources in MLA format visit this trustworthy guide MLA Style | How to (Excelsior OWL)

Click on "MLA Works Cited" on left for instructions how to cite all sorts of sources

CONTACT ME

Need help? Contact me:

Tara Fitzpatrick

tfitzpatrick@salemstate.edu

Book an appointment (calendar)

Student Engagement, Social Work & Sociology Research & Instruction Librarian
Frederick E. Berry Library & Learning Commons, LIB 210
Salem State University
Salem, MA 01915

DAN 101 Inspiration

Looking for Inspiration?

Check out Dance for Social Change is a dance festival in New Orleans organized by Dancing Grounds.

Dance Your Ph.D. is an annual contest that challenges scientists to interpret their research through dance. It is organized by Science Magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Music and Dance: McLyman DAN 101

DAN 101 Exploring Dance for the Beginner

Spring 2024 | McLyman

FINAL PROJECT RESEARCH GUIDE