These databases will be helpful to you as you do your research. Use them to find primary source material, or scholarly articles on your topic.
Primary Source Databases
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1This link opens in a new windowArte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2This link opens in a new windowArte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
History and Sociology
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowOne of the main databases for the study of American History, it includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Journal articles date as far back as 1895. Limited full-text. See Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life’s companion database for coverage of the rest of the world from 1450 on.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowThis database indexes hundreds of English language journals in the areas of sociology and social work.
Art, Literature, Music
Art AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowArt Abstracts provides research information on fine, decorative, and commercial art, including photography, folk art, film and architecture. It features indexing, abstracts, and articles for hundreds of journals and thousands of art dissertations and reproductions.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowEssential research database for all aspects of modern languages and literature. It contains more than 2.7 million records from books, journals, dissertations and scholarly web sites.
Music IndexThis link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from more than 705 international music periodicals on all aspects of classical & popular music. 1970-present. Updated regularly.
International Bibliography of Theatre and DanceThis link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre, dance, and other performing arts worldwide. Includes the full text of articles from more than 200 journals and more than 370 full-text books. Years of coverage vary by title. Updated regularly.
