It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online, formerly known as Grove Art, provides web access to the entire text of The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Grove Art Online. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Art Abstracts provides research information on fine, decorative, and commercial art, including photography, folk art, film and architecture. It features indexing, abstracts, and articles for hundreds of journals and thousands of art dissertations and reproductions.
Index of historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929 to 1984, containing hundreds of titles from feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials.
One of the main databases in the field of history, it includes scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life) from 1450 to the present. Limited full-text. Journal articles date back to 1953, with some published earlier in the 20th century.
Contains more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. Besides worldwide art and architecture reproductions from many time periods, ArtSTOR contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.
Finding Books at SSU and Beyond
Follow the links below to find books at Salem State University Library or in libraries elsewhere.
To find books in the Berry Library at Salem State and in other local libraries in the NOBLE Library Consortium, select the Books, Media & More tab above the search box at the top of the library's homepage. Request books from other NOBLE Libraries by clicking on the Place Hold button. The book will be sent to Salem State or another library of your choice.