Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Books Locally and from Far Away
Use this catalog to find books at SSU and local libraries.
Use this catalog to find books in libraries worldwide.
Click on the book or article form to request material not available in a NOBLE Library. We will contact you when it is available for pick-up. There is a limit of 5 requests at a time.
Useful Subject Headings
Executive Power -- United States
Executive Power -- United States -- History
Presidents -- United States
American Presidency Series
American Presidency Series
The American Presidency Series. published by the University of Kansas Press, provides scholarly works on individual presidential administrations. To see a list of titles from the series available at SSU and other local libraries, click on the link.
Call Numbers for Books on the Presidency and Presidents
Books on the Executive Branch have a call number between JK 501 and JK 868. They are on the 3rd floor of the Library.
The link below is to the Library of Congress Classification Code for the History of the Americas. Click on United States and scroll down until you find the administration of the president in which you are interested. The call numbers are in the left column. These books are on the 2nd floor of the Library.
HeinOnline The U.S. Presidential Library section of this database will be particularly useful.
The American Presidency Project
Site containing presidential documents, statistics, videos, and transcripts of interviews and debates, among materials. Created and maintained by the University of California, Santa Barbara.
The Miller Center
Based at the University of Virginia, the Miller Center is "a nonpartisan institute that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation’s governance challenges." Includes a Presidential Speech Archive and Oral History collection.
Journals on the Presidency
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Call Number: J80 .A283 (1945-2004)
Available online or in print. The online version covers the public papers of Herbert Hoover (1929) - Barak H. Obama (2013). Includes addresses to the nation, bill signings and vetoes, executive orders, communications with Congress and Federal Agencies, meetings with foreign leaders and international officials, and photographs of the presidents.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Consists of the Daily and Weekly Compilations of Presidential Documents released by the White House Press Secretary. Covers 1992 - 2020. Published by the Office of the Federal Register and the National Archives and Records Administration.
Finding Scholarly Information on Google
Search Google more effectively by using Google Scholar (see box below) and Google Advanced Search. To use Google Advanced Search, type in a search as you usually would, then scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Advanced Search. A form will come up with several options to limit the search. These include various ways to select a combination of words, language, reading level, domain, date of last update, and several more. Try it, it will help you zero in on just the websites you want!