Research Guides: Point-of-care and pharma resources: Free Tools

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Hear my name: https://namedrop.io/dawnstahura

Email Me

Contact:

(she/her/hers)
Berry Library

YOU MATTER. ALWAYS.
︵‿︵‿୨♡୧‿︵‿︵

**Appointments are now available via phone, email or video.

978.542.2079

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Healthcare Studies, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physics

FREE CLINICAL APPS

These clinical apps are available for free (or at a very low cost). They may include a nominal download fee or offer in-app purchases, but do not require an annual subscription.

MedScape

Includes multiple drug references guides, disease & condition references, medical news, CE activities, offline access to clinical resources and more. You must create a free MedScape account to use the app.
MedCalX

MedCalX is a medical calculator app for iOS that gives you easy access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications.
mobilePDR

mobilePDR® is the official drug information app from Prescriber's Digital Reference. Fast and easy to use, mobilePDR employs a simple, but powerful, search tool with access to thousands of drug summaries continually updated by PDR within a week of manufacturers' updates.
MediBabble

MediBabble is a robust history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.

PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS

These free or low-cost resources make it easy to educate patients about their healthcare options.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up-to-date. (MedlinePlus is a mobile-friendly website, not an app).
Visual Anatomy Lite

Visual Anatomy is an interactive reference and learning tool. It is designed to teach those with no medical knowledge about anatomy and physiology.
Plain Language Medical Dictionary

This free basic app converts medical language into everyday English. It is based on the award-winning Plain Language Medical Dictionary widget designed by Taubman Health Sciences Library, University of Michigan.
Fooducate

Fooducate is a free app that helps people understand and compare the nutritional content of different foods. Includes a food tracker, a database of brand name foods graded for nutritional content, recipes, and suggestions for healthy eating.

OTHER POINT-OF-CARE APPS

These Point of Care apps are not available through the SSU Library, but you might have access through your workplace.

Some of these apps also have free versions (though free content might be limited).

Epocrates
Epocrates is a medical reference app that includes information about drugs, diseases, evidence-based guidelines, and more. Some of the content is available for free, and some requires an annual subscription.
Dynamed
Dynamed is a clinical reference tool that includes drug information, overviews & recommendations, specialty content, and more. Dynamed requires a subscription, but offers a free trial and a student discount.
UptoDate
UptoDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that includes drug information, medical calculators, patient education information, and more. UptoDate requires an annual subscription.