EndNote is a software program that works with Microsoft Word to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper reference lists with your chosen style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). The "Basic" edition is a limited, online-based version that is free to use.
EndNote Basic is an online version of the EndNote software that allows you to save and organize your references as well as create citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. You can sign up for a free EndNote Basic account and access your references online, or you can try the desktop version free for 30 days.
The best way to export items into your EndNote account is by using the Direct Export in RIS format.
Even if you see an option for direct export to EndNote listed as on option, use RIS format instead.
The RIS file will download into your download folder on your computer. You won't be able to open it and that's okay.
The file will usually be named with the database you found the article in. This is helpful to note so that you choose the right RIS file to export into Endnote.
In your Endnote account, click on Collect and then Import References.
On the Import References screen, choose the file you want to import.
For import option, ALWAYS choose Refman RIS.
Select the folder you want the import to go to.
Click the import button.
When you're finished, the reference will appear in the group you selected.
Just like with the databases, you will export items in Google Scholar using Refman RIS.
First, you need to set up your Google Scholar account to export using Refman RIS.
Under the 'three bars' icon you will see an option for settings. Click that.
Under settings, you will see Bibliography Manager at the bottom of the screen.
Change the option to Refman.
Click Save.
Find an item you want to export into EndNote.
You will notice that Import into RefMan is now an option.
Click that.
A file called scholar.ris will download into your downloads folder.
The RIS file will download into your download folder on your computer. You won't be able to open it and that's okay.
The file will usually be named with the database you found the article in. This is helpful to note so that you choose the right RIS file to export into Endnote.
In your Endnote account, click on Collect and then Import References.
On the Import References screen, choose the file you want to import.
For import option, ALWAYS choose Refman RIS.
Select the folder you want the import to go to.
Click the import button.
When you're finished, the reference will appear in the group you selected.
You have two options for creating a bibliography from your EndNote references:
1. You can use the Cite As You Write toolbar for Microsoft Word to insert citations and generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice. You will need to download the "Cite While You Write Plugin" found under the "format" tab. Just follow the steps outlined.
Once installed in Word, you will see Endnote show up in the menu bar.
2. You can generate a bibliography from your EndNote references online. Under the Format menu, select "Bibliography," choose the list of references you want to use in the bibliography, choose your preferred citation style, and select a file format for the bibliography (Rich Text Format is usually a good choice).
You can save the bibliography as a separate file, email it, or preview it in a pop-up window, where you can copy & paste it into another document (Note: make sure your browser pop-up blocker is turned off).
