Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
STARTING YOUR SEARCH
What am I searching?
This searches the library catalog and a selection of databases for a variety of resources. For resources specific to your subject area, visit the A-Z database
What am I searching?
This searches the library catalog for books & e-books, physical & streaming audio/video, and more.
Can't find what you are looking for? Give interlibrary loan at try! Basically if you want something (articles, books, DVDs) we will borrow that item from another institution for you. It's that easy.
HELPFUL BOOKS TO CHECK OUT
Leadership in Healthcare by Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by Health care is one of today′s most discussed and debated topics. From issues such as accessibility to costs to quality, the debates range widely among doctors, patients, employers, and insurers. A popular topic in political campaigns and the media, health care and health care management is also a quiet and unremitting concern in the private and personal lives of individuals who worry about someday having to choose between food and prescription drugs. The Encyclopedia of Health Care Management will prove invaluable to libraries serving students and professionals in health and business. It will also be an essential reference for health providers and their employees, and students and professors in health and management for responsible and successful practice and administration in the health care industry.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2003-10-21
Healthcare Operations Management by Student Resources (click here for access) Instructor Resources: This book's Instructor Resources include PowerPoint slides, an updated test bank, teaching notes for the end-of-chapter exercises, Excel files and cases for selected chapters, and new case studies, for most chapters, with accompanying teaching notes. The new case studies are 1-3 pages each and are suitable for one class session or an online learning module. The answers to many of the dilemmas faced by the US healthcare system, such as increasing costs, inadequate access, and uneven quality, lie in organizational operations - the nuts and bolts of healthcare delivery. Leading healthcare organizations have begun to employ the programs, techniques, and tools of operations improvement that industries outside of healthcare have successfully used for decades. Healthcare Operations Management aims to help healthcare management students and working professionals find ways to improve the delivery of healthcare, with its complex web of patients, providers, reimbursement systems, physician relations, workforce challenges, and intensive government regulation. Taking an integrated approach, the book puts the tools and techniques of operations improvement into the context of healthcare so that readers learn how to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of tomorrow's healthcare system. Thoroughly revised and updated, this edition includes: A new chapter on big data and analytics for fact-based decision making More Excel examples to demonstrate the use of this prime analytics tool New case studies and exercises Expanded information on innovation and new approaches to care delivery With its plentiful examples, guidelines to software tools, and emphasis on contemporary healthcare management issues, this book provides current and future healthcare professionals alike with a broad foundation for implementing operational improvements in their organizations.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
101 Careers in Healthcare Management by " A] digestible yet comprehensive resource describing the many career opportunities in healthcare management... and] a valuable resource for current undergraduate and graduate students as well as career changers interested in pursing a job in the healthcare management field."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Careers in health administration continue to grow despite an overall downturn in the economy. This is a field that offers tremendous job opportunities across the spectrum of healthcare delivery and payment organizations. 101 Careers in Healthcare Management is the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The guide clearly explains the responsibilities and duties of each of these careers and how they differ from other management jobs. It describes the integral role of healthcare administrators in creating and sustaining the systems that allow healthcare clinicians to do their best work. The book covers educational requirements, opportunities, traditional and nontraditional career pathways, and helps students assess whether they are temperamentally and intellectually suited to a career in healthcare management.Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, the guide describes careers in 14 different healthcare and related settings. These include long-term care, physician practices, commercial insurance, consulting firms, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, information technology, and biotechnology. Additionally, the book offers numerous interviews with health administrators, from those in entry-level positions to CEOs, to more vividly portray potential careers.Key Features: Presents the only comprehensive guide to all major employment opportunities in health administrationWritten in clear, jargon-free textAuthored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration educationIncludes interviews with many different healthcare administrators at various types of organizations
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
KEYWORD SEARCH STRATEGIES
Start by by thinking about the main ideas that are related to your topic. The PICO format (Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) can help you think about these concepts.
Consider using synonyms of your keywords to help find even more information. For example, if you are looking for articles about the benefits of exercise for patients with heart disease, you might start with the keywords and synonyms below:
Searching for Keywords
Creating a grid like the one above can also help you enter your keywords when you're searching in the databases.
Try Boolean Operators...
- "Or" broadens your search results. (Citrus OR Oranges OR Lemons OR Tangerines OR Grapefruit)
- "And" narrows your search results. (Rainfall AND Deforestation AND Brazil)
- "Not" narrows your search results. (Wound healing NOT Plants)
- Combine operators for more complex searching. (Coastal sage scrub AND fire OR Postfire OR Postburn)
- Broadens your search
- Enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.
- The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. (child* = children, childs, childrens, childhood)
- Broadens your search.
- Use if a word can be spelled several different ways but has the same meaning.
- Wom*n = women, woman, col*r = color, colour