RefWorks : Web-based citation management software.A group code will be needed for off-campus access. Please email us, using your Salem State University email account, for the group code: libraryhelp@salemstate.edu
A group code will be needed for off-campus access. Please email us, using your Salem State University email account, for the group code: libraryhelp@salemstate.edu
Establish Your RefWorks Account
You must have an account to use RefWorks. To set one up use the link on the opening page of RefWorks.
You will need the"RefWorks Group Code." The librarian will provide this code in class. If you misplace it, please contact your librarian.
RefGrab-It
RefGrab-It is a convenient way to import citations into RefWorks when you can't see an import link. Select and install it from "Tools" on the RefWorks page. Drag the RefGrabIt link up to your bookmarks toolbar. This works best in Internet Explorer, FireFox and Google Chrome. Then when you find an article you want, click on the RefGrabIt icon and import to RefWorks using the pop-up window to select the article(s).
Importing Citations
Now you need to put something into your RefWorks account. To move an article from a database to RefWorks, locate the button for exporting citations - this may be variously labelled Export, Save, RefWorks or something else. Then follow the instructions to export your article(s). Since databases vary it is worth spending some time getting to know how your favorites work.
Folders
A RefWorks window will automatically come up, saying that files have been imported. Click on View Last Imported Folder. The selected citations should be there. These citations now need a permanent home. To provide one for them, click on New Folder at the top left of the screen. Type in the name you want for the folder. Now, click on the button labeled All in List under the References tab, or check the square next to your reference. Hover over the folder icon with the little white and green plus on it, move down to the name of your folder and click on it. The citations are all now in your new folder.
Creating Bibliographies
To create a bibliography of these citations, select Bibliography from the menu bar at top. Select a folder to use. You can use selected references from a folder if you do that part first. Choose an Output Style (Citation Style such as APA, MLA, etc.). In the box next to Select a File Type choose Word for Windows (2000 or later). (Note, you can use any of these you want, e.g. HTML). (If your citation style isn't already available choose manage output styles and move your style to favorites.) Save the document to your computer or thumb drive. You can then copy and paste the bibliography into your paper.
Write-N-Cite
Write-N-Cite is a utility that interacts with RefWorks. It allows you to insert placeholders for citations into your paper as you write it. When you’ve finished the paper, RefWorks will take the citations and format them into a bibliography. Select and install it from "Tools" on the RefWorks page. It should load into Word and be useable as you type your paper.
Citation - Reflects the information needed to locate a particular source.
Bibliography - Lists citations for all of the relevant resources.
Annotated Bibliography - Each citation is followed by a brief note that describes and/or evaluates the source.
In-text citation - Consists just enough information to correspond to a source's full citation in a works cited list. Requires a page number(s) showing exactly where relevant information was found in the original source.
APA - (American Psychological Association). Used in social science disciplines, like psychology and education.
