Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

MKT 445: International Marketing

Overview

This page provides helpful links to a variety of international marketing resources for you to support your "ISM" research paper from an international marketing perspective.  Your research involves taking a topic and making an "ISM" of it.  Past examples: heritage tourism marketing; women as consumers; terrorism marketing; feminism and international marketing in Japan. 

Think of an "ISM" you are interested in.  For example:  Feminism and International Marketing and Japan.  Or in simpler terms, Feminism in Japan.

How might the broad topic, Feminism and Japan, "translate" into an international marketing topic?  Feminism could be code for women in the work force, women as consumers of goods, etc.  Search for your topic in Google:  Feminism and women and Japan

Google search found: This might be the 'silver lining' for Japan

Google search found:  It pays to listen to the real needs of women consumers in Japan

Use the tabs below to select the type of information that you are looking for.

"ISM" Research

This page lists and describes key library databases and journals for International Marketing research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.  Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.  Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.  Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Key Databases

 

When you access a library database off-campus (such as IBISWorld, Mergent, etc.), you will be prompted to enter a username and password. These tell our system that you are a member of the SSU community.
  • The user name and password are the same as those used to access Navigator, Canvas, email, etc.
Key Journals
Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has several excellent databases pertaining to international marketing. 

Some are available remotely, accessible with a BPL e-card. SIgn up today for a card!  Databases to look at include:

  • Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014) Available remotely with e-card.
  • Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010) Available remotely with e-card.
  • Statistical Insight (1973 to present). Available remotely with e-card.
  • EMIS Intelligence. Must use in person at BPL. This is an excellent source for information about emerging markets.

Know about a country's economic status, social climate, or technological capabilities.

The characteristics of human populations and population segments, especially when used to identify consumer markets. 

Tips on international business values, etiquette, customs, and behavior in professional settings.

Marketing size, trends, and consumption.