Articles - Nursing - Public Health - Research Guides at Salem State University

PUBLIC HEALTH NURSING RESEARCH ARTICLES

Nursing Articles:

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Ultimate is the primary resource for the fields of nursing, allied health and occupational therapy. It includes: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, index/abstracts, full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database, CINAHL, is the core resource of this product.

General Medical (and some nursing) Articles:

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an important health science database covering, medicine, dentistry, and nursing. The resource uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) which allow for specific, focused searching. This version contains over 1,400 full text journals and is updated daily. View tutorial:

School Nurses Articles:

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Ultimate is the primary resource for the fields of nursing, allied health and occupational therapy. It includes: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, index/abstracts, full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database, CINAHL, is the core resource of this product.
ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests. View tutorial:

Windshield Surveys:

Adapting the windshield survey model to community health education

SEARCHING TIPS

Hints (MEDLINE and CINAHL)
Use the Advanced Search screen.
Important keywords: public, community
Search example: diabetes and (public or community)
Limit by age, type of publication, etc: Refine Results (left side of results screen).
Do not limit by "any author is a nurse." Verify the author's credentials by looking at the full article.

To limit your search even more, select under Search Options, Special Interest, Public Health.

Finding Full-Text Articles
CINAHL and MEDLINE have links to many full-text articles.
No full-text? Follow the link, More Full Text Options for additional full-text possibilities.

Still Can't Find an Article?
Interlibrary Loan