Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EVIDENCE-BASED CLINICAL PRACTICE RESOURCES
Evidence-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values. (Sackett DL, Straus SE, Richardson WS, et al. Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2000.)
Unfiltered resources are primary sources that describe original research. Randomized controlled trials, cohort studies, case-controlled studies, and case series/reports are considered unfiltered information.
Filtered resources are secondary sources that summarize and analyze the available evidence. They evaluate the quality of individual studies and often provide recommendations for practice. Systematic reviews, critically-appraised topics, and critically-appraised individual articles are considered filtered information.
Below you'll find a list of places to find each type of information.
FILTERED RESOURCES - SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS/META-ANALYSIS
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus
Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.
FILTERED RESOURCES - CRITICALLY-APPRAISED TOPICS
Using systematic review methods, EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical topics to produce various types of evidence reports intended to inform health care decisions by patients, providers, policymakers, and other stakeholders.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is the primary resource for the fields of nursing, allied health and occupational therapy. It includes: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, index/abstracts, full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database, CINAHL, is the core resource of this product.
MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an important health science database covering, medicine, dentistry, and nursing. The resource uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) which allow for specific, focused searching. This version contains over 1,400 full text journals and is updated daily.
Provides access to journal articles and other materials in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related fields. Coverage 1800s to present.
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
BACKGROUND INFORMATION/EXPERT OPINION
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools.