Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View the videos below on:
Using the NOBLE Library Catalog to search for books
Using the Library Databases to access and retrieve journal articles
Using the NOBLE Library Catalog
Can't find what you are looking for? Give interlibrary loan at try! Basically if you want something (articles, books, DVDs) we will borrow that item from another institution for you. It's that easy.
You can also try searching Worldcat which is the literally the world's largest catalog of resources.
Accessing Library Databases
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The premiere database of the American Geosciences Institute.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of scholarly, government and general interest articles on human impacts to the environment. Some full-text is available through links to other databases.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Scholar provides access to a number of chemistry databases including Chemical Abstracts and the chemical Registry database. Available to Salem State University faculty/staff/students only. MUST have active Salem State University email account.
Online Registration Form
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:
The Massachusetts Geological Survey
Promote and encourage geologic mapping within the Commonwealth in support of land use, mineral use and water resource policy decision-making by taking advantage of STATEMAP, FEDMAP, EDMAP and similar mapping programs offered by the U.S. Geological Survey.
New England Water Science Center
The USGS mission is to monitor, analyze, and predict current and evolving dynamics of complex human and natural Earth-system interactions and to deliver actionable information at scales and timeframes relevant to decision makers.
MassGIS (Bureau of Geographic Information)
MassGIS maintains a comprehensive, statewide database of spatial information for mapping and analysis supporting emergency response, environmental planning and management, transportation planning, economic development, and transparency in state government operations.
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
- Very flexible.
Try Boolean Operators...
- "Or" broadens your search results. (Citrus OR Oranges OR Lemons OR Tangerines OR Grapefruit)
- "And" narrows your search results. (Rainfall AND Deforestation AND Brazil)
- "Not" narrows your search results. (Wound healing NOT Plants) (Social media NOT Facebook)
- "Not" can be used to weed out biased words or phrases associated with your topic. (immigrants NOT illegal aliens)
- Combine operators for more complex searching. (Coastal sage scrub AND fire OR Postfire OR Postburn)
- Broadens your search
- Enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.
- The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. (teen* = teens, teenager, teenagers, teenaged. environment* = environments, environmental, environmentalist)
- Broadens your search.
- Use if a word can be spelled several different ways but has the same meaning.
- Wom*n = women, woman, col*r = color, colour
Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Refereed or Scholarly articles...
- This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range...
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
One way to keep track of your research results is to use a research log. This way you will remember where you searched, the keywords you used, and how many results you got.
Use this template to keep track of your searching.