Research Guides: Physics: Articles on your topic

KEY DATABASES

AIP Complete This link opens in a new window
AIP Complete provides abstracts and full text for journals and magazines from the American Institute of Physics.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Scholar provides access to a number of chemistry databases including Chemical Abstracts and the chemical Registry database. Available to Salem State University faculty/staff/students only. MUST have active Salem State University email account.

Online Registration Form
http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CC9CD992-86F3-50AB-127C-415DCA730B85

arXiv.org
A searchable electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
CERN Document Server
Provides access to materials on a number of preprint servers in the physical sciences. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more, with over 800,000 bibliographic records and 360,000 full text documents.
HEPSearch
Indexes more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses.
Open Access Directory - Physics
Identify electronic journals in the fields of Physics and Astronomy that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.

NOTE: Titles of and links to open access journals in Physics and Astronomy. This is not a searchable database.
Finding Diverse Sources for Science Stories
Here, we compile detailed and specific resources and strategies that reporters can use to make that goal a reality, drawing on the wealth of information available from many U.S.-based organizations and scientists. Strategies for finding diverse sources can include drawing on publicly available scientist databases, social media accounts and hashtags, affinity organizations in STEM, sources, colleagues, public information officers, expert-referral services, and online discussion groups.
Diverse Speakers in STEM Database
Plenaries, keynotes, seminar speakers, and panelists are predominantly white and/or male. This is largely because the organizers are often white and/or male. If you are organizing an event, please consider the diversity of your organizers and speakers. There are underrepresented minority experts in your field. You may not know them, but you should.
Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive
A freely accessible electronic archive for research papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas.

SEARCHING TIPS

Keywords are...

A good way to start a search.
The important concepts in your own words.
Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
Very flexible.

Try Boolean Operators...

"Or" broadens your search results. (Citrus OR Oranges OR Lemons OR Tangerines OR Grapefruit)
"And" narrows your search results. (Rainfall AND Deforestation AND Brazil)
"Not" narrows your search results. (Wound healing NOT Plants) (Social media NOT Facebook)
"Not" can be used to weed out biased words or phrases associated with your topic. (immigrants NOT illegal aliens)
Combine operators for more complex searching. (Coastal sage scrub AND fire OR Postfire OR Postburn)

Truncation...

Broadens your search
Enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.
The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. (teen* = teens, teenager, teenagers, teenaged. environment* = environments, environmental, environmentalist)

Wildcards...

Broadens your search.
Use if a word can be spelled several different ways but has the same meaning.
Wom*n = women, woman, col*r = color, colour

Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Refereed or Scholarly articles...

This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range...

When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

For some of us, it helps to break down our research components so that we can create more effective search strategies. I create this worksheet that might help you do that!

Brainstorming Your Topic Worksheet