Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Can't find what you are looking for? Give interlibrary loan at try! Basically if you want something (articles, books, DVDs) we will borrow that item from another institution for you. It's that easy.
You can also try searching Worldcat which is the literally the world's largest catalog of resources.
ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
ACS Journals provides abstracts and full text for journals and magazines from the American Chemical Society.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98thEdition is an update of a classic reference. The 98thEdition contains several new features including, but not limited to - a major update to the table of isotopes, the first major compilation of high quality data of protein-ligand binding thermodynamics, and an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses. Plus, twelve lists have been updated such as, the physical properties of organic compounds and the latest experimental values of bond dissociation energies. Building on the new feature first introduced in the 94thedition, four historical figures in science will be honored on the end plates. The elements- completely revised and updated with a new summary table of key properties Table of the isotopes- a major update to this important data collection with hundreds of new and more accurate data points for more than 3000 isotopes of all the elements Gas clathrates- new data tables for important mixed clathrate systems including methane, ethane, propane, carbon dioxide (new), hydrogen sulfide (new), xenon (new), and nitrogen (new). Ionic liquids- expanded and revised information on over 150 important ionic liquids Protein-ligand binding thermodynamics- the first major compilation of high quality data on these important bio-chemical reactions Common drugs- completely revised with property and functionality data on over 250 drugs 1H chemical shifts of contaminants in deuterated solvents- an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses Electron affinities- new data on over 200 atoms and molecules Atomic and molecular polarizabilities- Updated data value for virtually every element and many important molecules IUPAC guide to nomenclature of inorganic chemistry- this completely revised, four page guide provides easy-to-use access to the nomenclature rules for inorganic compounds Bond dissociation energies- the latest experimental values have been added for a number of molecules Standard Atomic Weights- 2016 changes made by IUPAC Physical properties of organic compounds- results of the first phase of a complete review, with new data of densities Atomic Masses and Abundances- Update of isotopic abundances Periodic Table of the Elements- Updated to include new element names Interstellar Molecules- Complete list of molecules observed in space to date Major World Earthquakes- Updated through 2016 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2- Updated through 2016 Global Temperature Trend- Updated through 2016 Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants- Updated to 2016 recommendations Chemical Carcinogens- Inclusion of 2016 recommendations of National Toxicology Program Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines- Definition of terms in nanoscience; guidelines for safe handling and disposal
Call Number: Ref. QD 65 .C73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Compendium of Chemical Terminology Also known as the "Gold Book" this is a collection of nearly 7,000 terms. with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
SpectraBase Fast text access to hundreds of thousands of free NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and mass spectra.
ChemCollective These tutorials combine movies and text with interactive tutors that walk students through solving problems on each topic.
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
- Very flexible.
Try Boolean Operators...
- "Or" broadens your search results. (Citrus OR Oranges OR Lemons OR Tangerines OR Grapefruit)
- "And" narrows your search results. (Rainfall AND Deforestation AND Brazil)
- "Not" narrows your search results. (Wound healing NOT Plants) (Social media NOT Facebook)
- "Not" can be used to weed out biased words or phrases associated with your topic. (immigrants NOT illegal aliens)
- Combine operators for more complex searching. (Coastal sage scrub AND fire OR Postfire OR Postburn)
- Broadens your search
- Enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.
- The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. (teen* = teens, teenager, teenagers, teenaged. environment* = environments, environmental, environmentalist)
- Broadens your search.
- Use if a word can be spelled several different ways but has the same meaning.
- Wom*n = women, woman, col*r = color, colour
Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Refereed or Scholarly articles...
- This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range...
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
One way to keep track of your research results is to use a research log. This way you will remember where you searched, the keywords you used, and how many results you got.
Use this template to keep track of your searching.