Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Reference Resources Guide: BPL and Massachusetts Libraries eResources

What is a BPL eCard?

 

What's an eCard and how do I get one? 

A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts.

BPL eResources

Britannica Library

Three levels of age-appropriate encyclopedia content for adults, middle and high school students, and children. Includes articles, primary sources, audiovisual materials, dictionaries, a world atlas, web links, and a country comparison feature.  Research tools include citation assistance and a step-by-step planner and tutorial for research and reports.

  

Gale Directory Library

This is a library of current directories published by the Gale/Cengage Publishing Co. For business researchers, Gale Directory Library is a trove of 51 trusted directories on companies, publishers, associations, and more—sources that cannot be found elsewhere on the Internet.

Credo Refernce

Full-text searchable articles and entries from hundreds of sources, including general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other books covering a wide range of topics. Includes an alphabetical topic list for easy browsing.

Boston Public Library Online Resources A- Z databases

Massachusetts Libraries Databases (MBLC)

Literature Criticism Online Literature Resource Center
Military and Intelligence Database Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nursing Resource Center Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Opposing Viewpoints In Context Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Pop Culture Collection Popular Magazines
Psychology Collection Religion and Philosophy Collection
Research In Context Science In Context
Small Business Resource Center Student Edition
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive U.S. History In Context
   
War and Terrorism Collection World History In Context