Articles and Databases - ATR 202: Injury Evaluation - Lower Body - Research Guides at Salem State University

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases available for ATR 202: Injury Evaluation - Lower Body research at the Salem State University Library. If you access a title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.

Suggested Possible Topics For Your Assignment:

Posture
Foot and Ankle
Knee/Patella
Lumbar Spine
Gait
Lower Leg
Hip and Groin

Accessing Library Databases

Key Databases

Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Consumer health - journal articles and magazines.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness Resource Center includes health/medical journals, pamphlets, videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and full text articles.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reference book content that supports research in the health sciences.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for consumer health, nutrition and professional periodicals. Includes full-text for some journals. Also includes patient-oriented drug information in lay language.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an important health science database covering, medicine, dentistry, and nursing. The resource uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) which allow for specific, focused searching. This version contains over 1,400 full text journals and is updated daily. View tutorial:
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Health, Medicine - journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations.
Select this resource under "Change Databases" as there is no direct link available.
SPORTDiscus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is a comprehensive, international database containing sport and fitness literature. The database contains records on sports medicine, exercise physiology, bioimechanics, and other sport and fitness related topics.

Related Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text overviews of current issues including pro/con debates, issue timelines, bibliographies, and statistics.
View tutorial:
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
The Healthcare Administration Database is designed for researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.
Sage Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of 450 online journals publised by Sage. Includes the deep backfile (up to the 2011 titles) collection. Updated monthly.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.

List of Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Suggested Peer-Reviewed Journals For Your Assignment:

Journal of Athletic Training

The Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT)

American Journal of Sports Medicine

Athletic Therapy Today

Journal of Biomechanics

Sports Health

Popular, aka, "Magazine"

Time

Short articles
Many ads and pictures
Opinion
No bibliography
Quick read
Typically found in Doctor's offices, hair salons, etc.

The Boston Globe
Newspapers are considered a popular journal

Scholarly, aka, "Peer Reviewed"

New England Journal of Medicine

Lengthy, well-researched articles
Substantial bibliography
Typically found in academic library or research centers
No or few pictures or ads
Written for a specialized audience

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.