Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Education Resource Area: ERA Collections

Located in the Salem State University library (2nd floor). ERA provides resources and services to support education programs at Salem State University. The collection includes curriculum, lesson planning, assessment, educational research books and kits.

ERA Collections

Use the Library’s Online Catalog to find specific materials in our collections.

If a children's or young adult book you want is not available at SSU library, check to see whether another NOBLE library owns it or request it by using the ILL request form. 

ERA sections

SSU Library Policies - refer to this document for general library policies.

ERA sections:

Section

Label

Loan periods:  Students

Sticker

Education   Resource Area Main Collection – next to the library instruction classrooms   214 and 215

Educ. Res.

3 weeks, may be renewed twice, if there isn’t a hold request for the book.

White label, no special stickers.

Education   Resource Area

Reference –   next to the ladies restroom.

Educ. Res.   Ref.

No circulation, library use only.

White label, no special stickers.

Education   Resource Area Test Books – next to the ERA computers

 YELLOW

Educ. Res.   Test.

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable.

White label, yellow  “Test Collection” sticker

Education   Resource Area

Kits – lower   shelf, next to the high chair and computer.

Educ. Res.   Kit

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable, no ILL requests.

 

White label, no special sticker.

Education   Resource Area Leveled readers – in back of ERA offices, in colored bins.

Educ. Res.   Leveled reader

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable.

White label, colored  dots for different levels.

Education   Resource Area New Picture Books – Behind the ERA offices, next to SELECT   books.

ORANGE

Educ. Res.   New Picture Books

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable

White label,  orange sticker “New Picture Book”

Education   Resource Area

New Books –   Next to the ERA restrooms, lower shelf.

BLUE

Educ. Res.   New

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable

White label,  light blue sticker, “New ERA”

Education   Resource Area SELECT – Behind ERA librarian’s office.

GREEN

Educ. Res.

3 weeks  circulation period, renewable

White label,  light green sticker, “SELECT”

Education   Resource Area Big Books - Behind the ERA offices, next to ERA periodicals.


PINK

Education Resource Area Global - Behind ERA offices, next to ERA Leveled Readers.

Educ. Res.   Big


Educ. Res.

3 weeks circulation period, renewable, no ILL requests to pick up in other libraries.


 

3 weeks circulation period, renewable

White label,  no special stickers.


ERA Global stickers

White label, pink sticker "Global"

Education   Resource Area – Edu/Psych Test Collection – in grey locked cabinets against   the ERA back wall.

Educ. Res. Test

Library use   only, can be checked out with permission from the Education Librarian.

White label,  no special stickers.

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CALL NUMBER AND SHELVING TUTORIAL - Created by Kent State University Library

Explore Library of Congress website for librarians 

Library of Congress Classification System

For New ERA Student Employees: Tutorial for the LC system. Credit:  University of Valley Forge, Julia Patton.

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CALL NUMBER AND SHELVING TUTORIAL - Created by Kent State University Library

For library student employees: browse through the Library of Congress Classification Tutorial created by Wilmington University Library. 

ERA Sections